Beat logo

Interpretation of great gig in the sky

My take on it

By aysha valenzuelaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Oh, The Great Gig in the Sky, it gives me chills just thinking about it. Not only is Pink Floyd my favorite band in the whole entire world this song on the album darkside of the moon, it is my most favorite song in the whole entire universe I wanted to interpret this song finally into words I turned it on lights off meditation pose and psychedelics.I love this song because you have to use your intuition and emotional self to understand it. Is this the actual literal meaning in which Pink Floyd wanted us to understand? My answer is , it doesn’t really matter whether it is or not, because it is my truth, it’s what resonates with me, after all the only thing that separates us all is perception. As I wipe the tears from my eyes I should proceed to explain my take on this wonderful melody. This collaboration of awesome sounds, and interesting opening in which a man is saying how “he is not afraid to die any time will do”. It never fails to amaze me the only words that are spoken after that intro are “if you can hear this whispering you are dying”. This is said almost subliminally. It tickles my fancy that anybody alive is technically dieing. oh what a clever little bunch they are. This song is sung in such a way, that your emotional self only can actually interpret what the singer is feeling. Making it almost a knowing. The attempts for man to attach to his own life. I mean it is kind of hard to to attach after all it’s all we know to be our real self even though it is not. Attempting to hang onto anything that gives him a sliver of his old self holding onto something that no longer exists, it’s merely a memory. He will kick and scream, Fight tooth and nail to take this non-existing self with him. Then finally realizing after a sea of emotions and almost going mad , well I am not going to say almost mad I think surpassing madness in coming to terms with his own mortality. In which you can only meet on the other side of madness. Then all this leads to grief , and loss it feels like your heart breaks along with this woman’s voice. I Continue to be carried by her Voice, then all of a sudden your heart falls to pieces, and when you can no longer take it anymore. Clarity acceptance, and peaceful feelings begin to warm your soul. It warms your soul because of relief. You feel no heartbreak instead you are light and free. Freeing you of the dense heavy burden we call our life. All of a sudden peace overwhelms you engulfing you in such a feeling the aaah moment. Almost like when you have to pee so bad you hold it for hours, and it hurts so bad it makes you sweat, and as soon as you let this loose you can feel the relief in which I speak of. A relief so beautiful it brings tears to your eyes and as I try to hold back these tears of love you just cannot help but let them shed then goosebumps take over your body. Well I don’t know about anyone else it’s the only way I can describe this song. Music is my passion , my drive, my escape , and the love of my life. Music can be interpreted in so many ways, thus customizing it for just you. This song is a piece of this great universe. A spec of magical fairy dust in our great gig in the sky.

song reviews
1

About the Creator

aysha valenzuela

Hello I live in the desert hiding in the shade from the beautiful powerful sun in az. I’ve lived all over southwest I dig experiences meeting new peeps and music is life. I am a nomad,I go where the wind takes me I’mhoping it blows me east.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.