Beat logo

Industrial Jungle Pussy Punk

That is the genre created by a band in order to define themselves. Self-given, printed on the liner notes one their remix album "Bitches/Molly" This seemingly mythical band is Mindless Self Indulgence.

By Courtney Koontz Published 3 years ago 5 min read
2

MSI was formed, where else other than, the lovely city of New York! Home of the punk scene (some might say). Meant to be an experiment dealing with, well- exactly what the name States: Mindless. Self. Indulgence.

The original members of the band are:

Jimmy Urine on vocals, as well as using various pieces of older equipment. A few being an AKAI s950 sampler and an Atari Stacy computer to produce tones and beats that are nostalgic yet modern and wonderfully absurd. You won't hear anything like it anywhere else.

Here you can view a detailed video about his setup. Moans and high-pitched squeals are not an uncommon occurrence on an MSI track. Especially if you're back in the late 90s, early 2000s collection of albums. Jimmy also has a handful of solo projects and collabs that are as equally brilliant.

His album Euringer came out in 2018. Self-described as "a counter-culture, surreal, psychedelic, art house, avant-garde, possibly posthumous concept project." I'd say it's an accurate description. To me, some of the songs sounded almost more traditional compared to his work with MSI while still delivering that alien, signature twist, and lyricism.

Kitty on the drums, with "robot" like abilities as far as speed and precision (in the words of Urine). Creating powerful and satisfying drum lines. Making beating on drums look and sound easy.

Steve, Righ? on the guitar producing filthy, and equally memorable riffs.

Lyn-z Way on the bass. She, however, is not an original member. Joining the group back in 2001 during the Pledge of Allegiance Tour with progressive metal band System of a Down.

Known for her infamous visually back-breaking bends she dawns during performances. She is also a visual artist. Learn more about that here.

Together they form MSIs' insane, high-energy sound.

Listening to MSI could result in you having a great deal of confidence. Singing the lyrics on repeat, "Bitches love me 'cuz they know that I can rock" or "Let me introduce myself, let me introduce my bad self" you start to actually believe it after a while.

MSIs' song Futures of their 1999 album Frankenstein Girls Will Seem Strangely Sexy:

Their first album Tight came out in 1999 but have demos dating as far back as 1995. Jimmy had referenced working on music since the 80s.

For music as old as me, I find it quite innovative. And if you don't agree with that, you'll definitely agree with one thing: They're certainly unique and quite shocking.

When asked why they picked the song 'Fuck Machine' (off their 2013 studio album How to Learn to Stop Giving a Shit and Love Mindless Self Indulgence) to remix a dozen times, Urine was quoted saying, "I like a song that says fuck a lot!"

MSI released their most recent album, Pink, in 2015. Taking unreleased tracks from the 1990s, waking them up a bit, and creating a gothic industrial dance party gold mine. Often times reminiscing Nine Inch Nails.

After the birth of this beautiful abomination, they've since released a series of comics titled Adventures into Mindless Self Indulgence. The subject being the bands' endeavors over the years as friends and bandmates. Righ? said the events are "not only true but watered down."

The band announced a Kickstarter as an ultimatum back in 2012. Either pay for the art you consume or don't get any art.

The band stating it was a "hostage situation to keep people from ripping off mp3s and basically getting the money first."

Doing this allowed the band total creative freedom. When, typically, no matter where you go to be produced, someone is always trying to shape and mold your vision into something else.

Since they released the album independently, none of that was a reality. Some people complained about the Kickstarter, unable to admit they want a product they consume daily, for free- art.

I understand the risk behind investing in something before knowing the quality of the product, but the lowest pledge amount was $1. Very little risk there. I'm all about sticking it to the man. But stealing independently released art is counter-productive. SUPPORT SMALL BUSSNIESS.

After 13 years of listening to this band, something that became obvious was their love for old school hip/hop music. When I began listening to them at the age of 13, I was still a close-minded, naïve teenager. I can't be edgy and like trendy rap music and like Nickelback (I mean, come on, are they really as bad as we are making them out to be?). At an early age, I was unaware of the fact that hip/hop is one of the most rebellious music genres that exist.

It was my love for MSIs' philosophy and incredibly unorthodox yet smooth-flowing sound that made me realize just how biased I was. A hard pill to swallow for the edgy, oh so open-minded teen.

For Example, their song Bring the Pain. Took me years to realize it was a Wu-Tang cover. It just goes to show how closely teenage me listened to song lyrics. *insert eye-roll*

When I did listen closely a few years ago I realize just how badass those lyrics are.

I'd say listing to this band helped me shape myself shamelessly over the years. Constantly reminding me of the electrifying energy within us all. The energy that dies when you allow the fun die. When you allow your body to act as a cage for your soul.

Oftentimes, I find myself amazed I haven't seen more controversy surrounding this band. Maybe it's because we truly do have that dual personality inside us all that begs to be let out. That feels left out and ignored. Not to mention artists are humans. They, too, learn and grow. Just like my edgy teen self who did many silly, and maybe even awful things.

That right there is something beautiful to me. When I can see myself going through similar life stages as some of my favorite artist. It's always been validating.

No, I'm not alone. Someone else feels the urge to be 'a bit silly but not quite absurd.' Bands like MSI give me hope. Weirdos have a place in this crazy world.

humanity
2

About the Creator

Courtney Koontz

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.