Beat logo

In This Day...

You'll know how I Feel

By Kiara ThomasPublished 3 years ago 11 min read
Like

Kayla twirled around in her mother’s shoes as she stood in the mirror playing dress-up. This was a typical day for Kayla. She loved to explore and loved to see what she could find just to put on a show for her family every night. “Brown skin girl, your skin just like pearls, the best thing in the world. I’ll never trade you for anybody else singing…” Kayla rummaged through her Mother’s belongings as she sang her own tune to “Brown Skin Girl.” by Beyonce. She picked up old dresses, dusty wigs and even posters. Her curious mind was fascinated by the things she found, so she dug deeper in hopes of pulling out something that would take her mind on a rollercoaster. “Whoa.” Said Kayla while holding up a rectangle shaped cardboard. There were pictures plastered on the front and on the back. Kayla found an opening and reached her little fingers right in and grabbed out a circular shaped object. She held it in the air to try to make sense of what it could be, but nothing clicked in her mind to understand. She carefully got up from the floor as she walked out the room with her mother’s shoes still sliding off her feet. She barged in the living room interrupting her Mother’s and Grandmother’s conversation.

“Momma, momma!” interrupted Kayla. “Kayla. Girl, I told you about coming in here when there are grownups talking. That’s rude young lady.” Said Shannon. Shannon was Kayla’s Mom. Her grandmother, Irene sat in her rocking chair that would squeak every time it moved. She noticed Kayla had her belongings clenched tightly in her hands. Shannon was about to jump right back in the conversation they were having before Kayla came in.

“Wait, hold on baby.” said Irene, she was now interrupting Shannon. “Kayla turn my records loose. How did you get those?” asked Irene. “Oh I found these in Momma’s boxes in her room. What are these again?” asked Kayla curiously. “They are my records. My good stuff girl. Hand 'em here.” Replied Irene firmly while holding out her hand. Kayla didn’t hesitate as she walked over and placed them in her grandmother’s hand. “So that didn’t come from a war? Like World War Two or something Grandma?” asked Kayla. Shannon burst into laughter as she sat on the floor by the couch. The corners of Irene’s mouth curled up as she let out a chuckle. “Well, I see your Mom here has never played this type of music around your young little soul.” Replied Irene while getting up from her rocking chair and heading right over to her record player. She blew dust from the top of the record player and then took out a record and placed it carefully on the player, she placed the needle right on the record and turned the knob up. “Is it a bomb Momma?” whispered Kayla as she ran and sat next to her mother Shannon on the floor. Shannon’s laughs grew from her daughter’s imagination. “No, just listen.” Reassured Shannon.

Irene stepped back as the music began to play. She snapped her fingers in rhythm with the beat as she swayed her hips from side to side. She turned to Kayla. “This is music. Music for the soul baby.” Said Irene. Kayla’s face lit up as she became instantly intrigued. “Music? Who is it Grandma?” questioned Kayla. “This here is Tina Turner. Come on and dance with your granny while I tell you a little story.”

November 26, 1939, Ana Mae Bullock who would be later know as Tina Turner entered this world. A Nutbush, Tennessee native who didn’t realize what an impact she would leave on her fans, family and friends. Songs and hits that she made became someone’s anthem and someone’s motivation to keep going, to go have fun, to let go, or to live and keep fighting. I would love to sit around and listen to the music that played throughout the house as a kid. I loved being able to witness the different moods my family would be in just from listening to songs. “Rolling on the River.” By Tina Turner was one of my favorite songs. Hearing this for the first time made me want to get up and dance and even shout if I wanted to. I felt the beat in my heart, the rush of words from her lyrics in my veins. It made me feel good to see a black woman with such a powerful voice being able to tell a story through music. Which brings me to another song I love by Tina Turner “I don’t wanna fight.” Those lyrics to that song had such a powerful impact on me. It motivated me to keep going and to let go of things I had no control over. The tears I cried from hearing her sing every lyric to that song would make me rise each time. I felt powerful and I felt like I could conquer anything life threw at me. Not only that, I’m sure Tina wrote this song based on the things she’s endured in her life as well. Being a black woman in the music industry could have been challenging enough for her, dealing with personal problems at home could have gave her great heartache. But one thing for certain, Tina kept going, which motivated me to never quit when things got tough.

“I love that song already, Grandma!” said Kayla as she danced with Irene. “Mhmm, this song here is called ‘What’s love got to do with it’, one of my favorites.” Said Irene as she kept dancing and singing along to the song. Shannon sat there adoring her little girl’s curiosity and her love for music and entertaining. She got up from the floor and walked over to the record player. She removed Tina’s vinyl record. “Wait a minute now Shannon..” said Irene while turning and looking at Shannon. Shannon laughed as she changed the record. “Mom, let me play this record just for a second.” Shannon replied.

Kayla stood there anxiously waiting for the next song to play. Once the tune began it was soft and mellow. Shannon turned to her daughter. “May I have this dance with you now and tell you a little about this song and this beautiful woman singing it?” asked Shannon. Kayla giggled as she covered her mouth. “Yes Mommy.” Said Kayla while running into Shannon’s arms. The instrumental to the song filled the room. Then they heard an angelic voice which took little Kayla by surprise. She gasped. “Who is it Mom? Who’s singing?” she asked. Shannon smiled seeing what an impact the music was having on Kayla. “This is Whitney Houston. This song is called ‘I have nothing’ and I love every word.” Shannon responded. “Tell me about Ms. Houston, Momma. Why do you love her?” asked Kayla.

Whitney Houston had a voice that sent chills down every limb in your body. I loved her music and the things she’s done for the music industry. Her warm and welcoming aura followed by that amazing voice she had. I remember hearing her for the first time as a child, thinking to myself “Wow. I want to sing like this one day.” I remembered being so happy to see her on TV. The awards show that came on when I was kid, I watched it all and pretended to be there watching her front and center. In my heart, I was there. To see her sing loud as a roaring river and then star in movies made me realize I can do anything I wanted. Songs like “Exhale” and “I will always love you.” Would always hold a significant meaning to me. Seeing her as the Fairy God Mother in “Cinderella” with Brandy brought tears to my eyes when I was a little girl.

“She was the Fairy God Mother, Momma?” asked Kayla as she looked up in her Mom’s face with light in her eyes. Shannon nodded her head as she stood there reminiscing on the first time she saw that movie.

“She was.. and Brandy… Brandy was Cinderella, a Disney Princess with a voice that could move an angel to tears.” Replied Shannon. Kayla gasped. “Listen now, let me finish telling the story.” Responded Shannon.

Whitney Houston was the first music artist that had 7 singles to hit number one. That alone made others that were in the singing business work harder to achieve what Whitney has achieved.

Inspiring, different, beautiful, vocal, she was that and more. She made me realize that your love for something can take you far but you had to put in the work and you had to give your full effort or you wouldn’t succeed. Her songs play almost daily in my house. I love the way they make me feel and I love the scenarios I paint in my head from the music.

Every black woman in the music industry I appreciate.

I love the different sounds they can create from happiness, love, heartache and overcoming.

“I am not my hair.” By India Arie taught me I can feel as beautiful with long full strands of hair or with no hair at all.

“He Proposed to Me.” By Kelly Price made me realize there’s someone out there for me and I’m worthy of every ounce of authentic love.

“Didn’t cha Know” by Erykah Badu puts me in the mood to burn incense and sage and just vibe to my own tune away from others for a while.

“Rise Up” by Andra Day pushes me to keep going, even with tears in my eyes. I feel every word she sings from the root of my soul.

“I know I been changed.” By LaShun Pace. The way she sings the song reminds me so much of worshipping God at church when I was a kid.

“Freedom.” By Beyonce, I couldn’t begin to tell you how much this song means in 2021.

“I’m the best” by Nicki Minaj makes me feel like Superwoman. I feel empowered ready to go at anything that comes my way.

“Just be a man about” By Toni Braxton. That song literally speaks for itself.

“You pulled me through” by Jennifer Hudson reminds me that God is not done with me.

“This is me” by Fantasia tells me to show my flaws and all to the world and be brave enough to hold your head high by trying to make your dreams come true.

And “Say Yes” by Floetry calms my spirit and makes me feel feminine like how I’m suppose to.

I view their music on a different level. It’s not just words. It’s not just phrases but they’ve told my story in some of their songs. They spoke the words I couldn’t speak when I felt my voice wouldn’t be heard. They must’ve felt the same pain as me, or the same joy as me, or cried the same tears as me – whether it was happy or sad tears. Music by these Black Queens and many more Black Queens are therapeutic to me and I need it just like I need air to breathe.

Their voices are used and heard for equal rights, some fight for the BLM Movement, Some fight for equality and I appreciate every time they step up. Black Women in Music, Black Women in general. I appreciate you all.

Kayla sat around as she listened to the stories about the songs her Mother and Grandmother loved and what an impact it has caused in their lives. “So, when you hear a song by a black woman. Listen attentively, take in the words and honey, hold your head high and sing along if you know the words. Don’t let anybody stop your show, ya hear?” said Irene while caressing Kayla’s little face. She smiled. “Yes Grandma.” Replied Kayla. “Okay, now leave my good records on the table. Granny is about to play some music and cook. This music put me in a good mood.” She said with a smile. Shannon smiled as she watched Irene walk in the kitchen. She looked at Kayla. “Now go finish exploring, but don’t grab out Grandma’s wedding dress, I do not want to hear the story with that dress. She’ll be talking for hours.” Whispered Shannon. Kayla laughed. “Okay Mom.” She said while getting up and heading back in the room.. Kayla took in all the music they shared with her. She took in all the love and all the encouraging words. She still had on her mother’s shoes as walked and stepped in front of the mirror. She looked at herself and smiled. “Birds flying high, you know how I feel…” Kayla began to sing a song her Mom played for her moments ago by Nina Simone. She fixed her dressed as she placed her mother’s pearls around her neck. She grabbed her Grandmother’s oversized fancy gloves and placed them on. She stood in the mirror with confidence as she made sure her hairbows were on correctly. She smiled. “It’s a new dawn, it’s a new day, it’s a new life for me and I’m feeling good.” Sang Kayla. She felt great and was ready to wow the rest of her family with her little performance for later. She wrapped the beautiful words and the beautiful songs she heard in love and kept it in her heart. She would remember this and pass it on when it was time to share.

Thank you Black Women.

I can’t imagine what life would be like without your unique voices.

Thank you Black Queens for the music that keeps the rhythm going in me.

Love.

playlist
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.