Beat logo

In the Mind of a Teenager

The annual Grammy is such a big deal for so many celebrities. At a young age you don't notice the way artists of color are treated compared to white artists. But now, how obvious can it be?

By Fernanda MotaPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
In the Mind of a Teenager
Photo by Oscar Keys on Unsplash

I have been growing up in a Hispanic household. It seems understandable for my parents to want me to listen to Spanish music at the age of 4-5 years old. However, they wanted me to learn English faster, as they wanted me to have better chances in life at a young age.

My younger self had two songs from black female singers that inspired me to try and be just as talented as them, but not in a singing way. "No One" by Alicia Keys, and "Single Ladies (Put a Ring on It)" by Beyonce. I was around 4 or 5 years old when my passion for music started? I didn't know how to read English or even Spanish at that time. And I didn't know what the Grammy's were. So how could I watch my two idols on TV and not only on a music video? I didn't know, even years later when I was able to read both English and Spanish, I just didn't know when the Grammy's were hosted.

You may be wondering what the Grammy's have to do with all of this, well I'll get to that part. My younger self didn't know a lot about the music industry, or where I could see singers win awards. I just enjoyed listening to Beyonce and Alicia Keys, even if I didn't understand the lyrics. I was listening to music about being single without knowing what that meant. I was also there listening to a song about love not knowing or understanding what it also meant. I loved hearing those songs. That is how much Beyonce and Alicia Keys influenced me.

Looking at where I am now, if it weren't for them, I wouldn't be motivated to play the violin, or inspire me to learn more instruments. But are they being appreciated as much as they deserve? So many other girls out there have been influenced by Beyonce and Alicia Keys, but it doesn't seem to be that much talking about it. Even after Beyonce is a legend in the music industry.

On May 4, 1959 one of the biggest ceremonies broadcasted on TV was created. The GRAMMYs are known to recognize achievements made in the music industry. All of this seems to be a way to show how artists experience these moments, but are the Grammys lying on who they really are.

On the Grammy's interview of 2020 found on Youtube under "Tyler, The Creator TV/Radio Room Interview | 2020 GRAMMYs " Tyler the Creator had spoken out about the Grammys. Starting at 0:20 to 1:24:

"On one side, I’m very grateful that what I made could be acknowledged in a world like this, but also, it sucks that whenever we — and I mean guys that look like me — do anything that’s genre-bending or that’s anything, they always put it in a rap or urban category, which is — I don’t like that ‘urban’ word. That’s just a politically correct way to say the n-word to me…"

In other words, Tyler The Creator had said that he feels appreciated for all the hard work he’s done, it was finally noticed through him winning an award. Although he felt that black singers, like him, have always been put in the same category no matter if the album or song they had done was a different genre from rap or urban. He had also clearly stated himself that his album IGOR on which he was nominated was mostly pop and not rap.

You may wonder "What does Tyler the Creator have to do with black female singers?" Well in 2017 Beyonce had received an award in the urban contemporary category, from her album Lemonade. The urban category has been seen as a racist category the Grammys had created. As other races have not been nominated in the urban contemporary, only black singers.

Beyonce as well has been nominated for the Grammys in rap categories. Beyonce's main genres have been hip hop, R&B and pop music. This doesn't make that much sense as to why Beyonce was nominated for a Grammy in the rap category.

In the rap category, Eminem and The Heist have been the only white people known so far to win a Grammy in this category. The rest of the winners, as you may think, have all been black singers.

The 2017 Grammys had some sort of controversy, the best album of the year had gone to Adele instead of Beyonce. This doesn't seem bad, however, Adele broke the trophy in half. Maybe as a way to show that Beyonce as well deserved this award.

You may think "Why is this related?" Well, Adele and Beyonce had been against each other during the categories. Beyonce won the Urban Contemporary album award, while Adele won 5 awards, one of them being of the Best Album.

During Adele Speech of winning the Best Album award, she had said: "But I can’t possibly accept this award. And I’m very humbled and I’m very grateful and gracious. But my artist of my life is Beyoncé. And this album to me, the “Lemonade” album, is just so monumental. Beyoncé, it’s so monumental......And the way that you make me and my friends feel, the way you make my black friends feel, is empowering. And you make them stand up for themselves. And I love you. I always have and I always will." In this speech it is clear that Adele believes that Beyonce should have won the award and not her. And talks about how Beyonce makes so many black women feel empowered and brave.

The Queen or Rap herself, Nicki Minaj, has even called out the Grammy's. On November 24, 2020, Nicki Minaj on Twitter said: "Never forget the Grammys didn’t give me my best new artist award when I had 7 songs simultaneously charting on billboard & bigger first week than any female rapper in the last decade- went on to inspire a generation. They gave it to the white man Bon Iver. #PinkFriday"

As it can be seen, Nicki Minaj feels angered that even though she had more than five songs that charted on Billboard, she didn't win the best new artist award and instead Bon Iver won. This year for the 2021 Grammy's, Nicki Minaj was not nominated for a Grammy at all. This has upset a lot of Barbs (Nicki Minaj fandom) as well Nicki herself, due to the fact that she has recorded several hits.

Teyona Taylor has also called out the Grammys. After the nominations for the Best R&B Album were said, Teyona on Twitter said "Y’all was better off just saying best MALE R&B ALBUM cause all I see is d--- in this category." As it can be seen with the tweet, all of the nominees were male. This includes John Legend, Luke James, Ant Clemons, Giveon and Gregory Porter.

I can keep going on and on, on the way Grammy's have treated black female singers. However, there is a lesson that needs to be learned. We need to appreciate black women. At such a young age, I was able to understand how much Beyonce and Alicia Keys helped me become who I am now. I knew that they deserved so much recognition, and they still do.

Imagine how many young girls have been influenced by black female singers. The way black women have been treated in the industry probably has changed. Probably has become more sexist and racist. People have to understand that there can be a difference done, and not treat black women like they don't exist.

Look at the Grammys, there is so much information on the way they treat women of color. We are growing up, we see the ignorance in the music industry. We see the sexism and racism in the music industry. A young child won't realize how bad the music industry can be, they just like music and it probably inspires them. Now once they are more grown, they realize how much appreciation artists of color deserve.

It is not hard to realize the way people of color are treated in the real world. Doesn't matter if they are pop legends, or a powerful activist. People of color have always been treated less as a person than white people. If you're a white person who is reading this and you're offended, I apologize, but it's true.

As I am still a teen, I get to experience the world for so many more years and see it change. I hope that people of color aren't treated as less than a person. I hope that there is a change in the music industry that won't put black singers in their own category. I hope that you as a person get to realize that there is something wrong in the world systemic racism. Probably you do know, hopefully as well you think that there needs to be a change. If you don't, I have no words, only that please educate yourself.

Sincerely,

In a mind of a teenager

industry
Like

About the Creator

Fernanda Mota

Idk

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.