Beat logo

I Put My Thing Down, Flip It, And Reverse It

Missy Misdemeanor Elliot- Creating Her Own Path

By teisha lesheaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
17
Photo From Marie Claire

"I want to say one thing to the writers, to the upcoming writers, 'Do not give up.' We all go through writer's block. Sometimes you [..]have to walk away from a record and come back to it. But don't give up because I'm standing here. And this is big for hip-hop, too."-2019 Songwriters Hall of Fame

4 Grammy Awards, 8 MTV Video Awards, 2 American Music Awards, 6 BET Awards, and inducted to the 2019 Songwriters Hall of Fame all describe the one and only Missy Misdemeanor Elliot, also known to the world as Missy Elliot. My mother and I spent a lot of time together growing up, and one of my most incredible memories is when BET would be on the TV for hours. We watched this woman wear a trash bag with a fishbowl lens in a music video during our usual routine. The song was "The Rain," and that video alone catapulted Missy's career to last a lifetime. I watched the video in awe. I had no clue what she was talking about, but I couldn't wrap my brain around the imagery. At that moment, I was hooked and been a fan of Missy Elliot ever since. When I want to go on a nostalgic ride, I usually play anything 90s related on Spotify. That time birthed a lot of the artists that I'm fans of now.

Missy's sense of style gave women all over the world permission to be free and careless about others' opinions. She has never labeled a sex symbol, but she made it a point to write songs that celebrated women. Lyrics on our shapes, (ass)ets, and lady parts gave women the green light to celebrate their femininity. She brought her music to life with costumes and high-budget music videos. She made her world look fun, and she never seemed to take herself seriously.

Missy Elliot- Marie Claire

Missy created a lane of her own and let the fans come to her. I can relate to that sentiment. Writing has developed confidence in me that I didn't know existed. I've always played things safe by abiding by the rules of society to have a decent life. I realized that way of living isn't in my best interest. If I can't fit in anyone else's door, I create my door and walk through it myself. After obtaining some success, she shared the spotlight with some of our favorite artists. If she wasn't in the video, you could hear her on vocals; you could see her listed as a writer. She is an all-around artist, and most people don't give her enough credit.

Artist's She's Written For

Aaliyah "One In A Million"

Beyonce "Signs"

Monica "So Gone"

Ciara 1,2 Step

Most people know Missy for her outlandish outfits and videos. I enjoy her the most as a songwriter and background vocalist. The admiration that I have for this woman is beyond the music. She didn't sell her soul. The early 2000s became the trend of showing tons of skin. We all know the saying "sex sells" Missy Elliot has been an artist who has defied the odds. Her tracksuits have become a staple and set her apart from other artists. She didn't have to get naked to sell her music.

Her feminism is beyond the outer appearance. She has allowed her talent to speak for itself. Press play on your favorite rom-com or your favorite movie about high school struggles. Her music fits any mood; it makes you feel good and makes you want to dance. It is impossible to sit down on a Missy Elliot record. Her music is timeless and will live on forever.

Click here to read more of my stories. I only profit off this website through reads and tips, so your curiosity is much appreciated

If you are looking for a group of writers who supports, provides feedback, reads, like, and provide tips, then join Vocal Creators Saloon. A small community with tons of advice and writing prompts will help you through your writer's journey.

pop culture
17

About the Creator

teisha leshea

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.