Beat logo

I Met My Favourite Pop Band

It was an awesome and surreal experience!

By Chloe GilholyPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
3
From L-R Siobhan, me, Mutya and Keisha

I couldn’t find the words to write for a few days. It’s been a long build up to this moment and there were times I was expecting the worse because of delays and cancellations due to industrial strikes all over the country. Still, I made it. And I live to tell the tale.

15th September has always been a day I remembered. It’s my friend, Cynthia’s birthday. Someone I know in Havelock, North Carolina also shares the same birthday. It’s also the day I saw one of my favourite band, the Sugababes in concert for the 6th time. I’ve seen them twice this year, and twice last year as well. Each time I’ve seen them it’s always been in the same two cities: London and Birmingham.

The most recent one I have been to was a one night only show at the O2 in London. It was one of the biggest shows in their career and people were flying from Australia, Europe and America just to see them. They’re not as well known outside of Europe like Spice Girls and Little Mix, but the Sugababes were popular back in the day. The fans are still loyal to this day.

The media sensationalised the line-up changes, but its also made the fact the original line up being together more special. I’ve written a few books, but this was one book I always wanted to write. I mainly write poetry and fiction with the books I have published in books, so doing a non-fiction one was interesting to do.

The reason for this was because I felt there was a lot of stuff being recorded about the drama and line-up changes, but not so much about their music. I guess that’s how the tabloids make their money. They have some album tracks and b-sides which are just as special as their hit singles. A popular fan favourite is Ace Reject.

I bought the tickets to the show ages ago. I think it was sometime last year when they were first released to the public. I think I was one of the first of a few hundred that got the tickets. I also saw them live at Birmingham Pride and they were just as amazing there as they were at the O2.

There were times when I almost didn’t finish the book because I thought it wouldn’t be good enough. But I am glad I did it. I was nervous as well cause I don’t do many meet and greets. It’s not everyday you get to meet your favourite band.

I managed to finish the book around August time. It’s a short little book with messages from fans, a look through their discography, random facts and a quiz. My plan was to give it to them at the meet and greet. I’m glad I had the guts to do it. They’re really friendly and sweet. They asked if aI liked the new song and which songs I was looking forward to the most on their show and I said, “all of it.”

Cause they really loved it.

So surreal that a band I have been listening to for years was in love with a book I wrote. I had lots of love and congrats on Facebook and especially on the Sugababes group chat that I’m in. Somebody on the sister facebook group said when they tried to order it, it said it was out of stock which was strange since self published books are print-demand. I’ve had orders from the US, Italy and Germany which is really cool to see.

As well as meeting the girls in the group, it was also lovely seeing some people that I knew from the group chat. We’ve all been talking and sharing our excitement for music for so long.

bands
3

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Sarah D8 months ago

    Wow it must have been lovely when you found that the SugaBabes loved your book about them? I wanted more and more people to learn about the book I wrote coz it had a peice of me in it? That must have been a crazy day in your life as an author!

  • Tiffany Gordon 8 months ago

    That is so awesome! Congrats on finishing your book and getting to meet the group! This was such an enjoyable piece! :)

  • Mariann Carroll8 months ago

    What an experience 💓

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.