Beat logo

I Like It Intense

A Playlist

By Theodosia Published 3 years ago 2 min read
1
Photos by author.

There’s no shame in admitting you want to be deeply penetrated by music. It’s no different than being at an organ concert of sacred music, where you pray it will be loud, so you can feel the vibrations shudder the marrow of your bones. What else are you there for, but that. If music can overwhelm the senses of the body into ecstatic satisfaction, is that not something sacred? Is that not something to seek out?

There is a kind of deep deep, slow it down, take me under feeling I like being provoked by a soundtrack - that is one part aural travel to the depths, another part emotion beyond words, with a drop of erotic blood mixed in for good measure. Give me polyphony or give me death. Beat me with bass. I like it intense. And music, is a most healthy and satisfactory way of getting your itch for novelty scratched whilst also having your life induced on audio pleasure and altered states. If we’re being honest, who does not enjoy being seduced by slow crescendos and ravished by synthesizers, the waterfall of reverb poured into open ears. The surprise delight of being exposed to this new breed of accidental choral musicians, taking us to church through the profane. Razzed with a bit of jazz even, are you good for that? New or throwbacks - does it matter? The eternity of goodness is outside of time. In this list for play, all songs are unencumbered by shame, bold in their confidence and free to experiment with you, their listener.

One who listens has the right to demand high standards for the songs they let into them. This doesn’t mean abandoning pop music completely, oh she has her place, but when it comes to striking gold, it’s worth it to dig through the mud to find the prize. I love to listen, to receive the sounds which fulfill their promise to change me from the inside out. Make me feel, for real. I will rip off my pride and resistance and take a mud bath for you, in order to source the gold to share the wealth. What sweet charity is this, a time when trickle-down economics works, because my benevolence is intertwined with my taste and how can I not give you gifts when gift is my nature.

Go ahead, listener. Take it. It’s mine, it’s yours.

playlist
1

About the Creator

Theodosia

In the motherhood of creation, I am made inviolate.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.