Beat logo

Hozier sang what?

some amazing lyrics from Hozier's amazing songs pt.1/2

By Jay,when I writePublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
1

Hozier's songs are terribly romantic and well, feely. They evoke emotions that have been buried, have yet to be discovered, and ones that are hard for the average Joe to word. Hozier isn't the average Joe. He has found a way to express and tell a story within his songs. Stories of love and ache. Sadness and excitement. So, let's get to some of my favorite lyrics found in Hozier's songs.

note: if I find out that anyone else had a hand at writing a song then I will credit them too!

note: I do not know if Hozier has dealt with the topics in his songs/what he seems to be eluding to, but I know he has written some beautiful songs that feel relatable and or real even if you've neever experienced these feelings

1. Take Me to Church from his debut self-titled EP Hozier

I wanted to start with this song because it was many people's introduction to him. It took the radio sstations and everyone's personal playlists by storm.

The opening gets you prepared for his amazing writing writing capablities. And it's such a great opening.

My lover's got humour

She's the giggle at a funeral

Knows everybody's disapproval

I should've worshipped her sooner

The rest of the song goes on talking about them being seen as "sick" and him not caring. He wants to worship her. He finds comfort and this explosive feeling with his lover. The entire song could be quoted, but I'll leave it at the one above because it's such a damn good start.

2. Work Song from his EP From Eden (2014)

I've sang this song a billion times. It's so...raw and the way he moves through the lyrics gives me goosebumps.

Lyrics like

My babe would never fret none

About what my hands and my body done

or

In the low lamp light I was free

Heaven and hell were words to me

Hozier does like referencing and pulling from religion in his songs to express...well I'll get to that later. Let's focus on the lyrics.

3. Nina Cried Power ft. Mavis Staples on Wasteland (2019)

Now this song is much more upbeat and hard hitting compared to the others on this list. The others are slower, and less powerhouse vocal/beat focused and more drawn out and mellow-ish.

It's the Heaven of the human spirit ringin'

----

It's not the wakin', it's the risin'

----

And I could cry "Power!"

The last quote is much more powerful when putting it with the rest of the song and the names that were called out.

I would also love to point out how much I loved Mavis Staples yelling out names like "Billie," "Patti" "Marvin" etc. and Hozier following it with "Power" and them closing with

"Nina Cried "Power"

It was a shock to my ears, and my soul loved it so much.

4. As it Was-Wasteland

A song that brings me to tears. A song about desperation, shame, love, fighting demons/addiction, and having someone who stuck by his side.

The highs hit the heights of my baby

And its hold had the fight of my baby

And the lights were as bright as my baby

But your loved was unmoved

Sung oh so softly, oh so sweetly and slowly.

5. Sunlight-Wasteland

I could just like drop the whole song here, like link it, but I'll do my best to just share a few pieces of it.

As love in its decisive pain

Oh, my sunlight, sunlight,sunlight

-----

Know that I will gladly be

The Icarus to your certainty

----

Oh, your love is sunlight

But it is sunlight

These song lyrics really caught me. It is so easy to get wrapped up in his songs. Do you have a favorite Hozier song or lyric?

indiesong reviewsquotes
1

About the Creator

Jay,when I write

Hello.

What?

23, Black, queer, yup

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.