Beat logo

How the Women of County Music Celebrate Anti-Valentine’s Day.

Country music icons teach us love ourselves this February 14th.

By Kristen NazzaroPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
4

To say not everyone loves Valentine’s Day would be an understatement. For every person who believes in the power of Cupid and his arrow, there are two more who think Cupid is just a baby in a diaper brandishing a crossbow.

As soon as February starts there’s pink hearts and love songs everywhere. You can’t watch TV for five minutes without a jewelry commercial reminding you that diamonds are a girls best friend. What about the single, independent women out there? The ones who can buy their own diamonds and are their own best friend?

That’s where the Anti-Valentine’s Day playlist comes in. Let’s face it, few people can pull off that don’t-need-a-man, happy-on-my-own, independent vibe like Miranda Lambert and Carrie Underwood. Read on for a list of the best Anti-Valentine’s Day songs that country music has to offer.

GIRL by Maureen Morris

Maybe you need a little motivation to get up and get out. Maureen Morris gives you a strong dose of that in ‘Girl’. She acknowledges that heartbreak is painful and everyone goes through it, but encourages you to “pick yourself up off the kitchen floor/what you waitin’ for”. She promises you’ll be fine, singing “Baby girl, don't you hang your head low/Don't you lose your halo/Everyone's gonna be okay

BEFORE HE CHEATS by Carrie Underwood

A go to song for scorned women everywhere, ‘Before He Cheats’ by Carrie Underwood is a good reminder that karma wins out in the end. After taking a bat to his headlights and slashing his tires, Carrie sings “Maybe next time he’ll think before he cheats.” Of course, this post is not recommending violence to anyone or anything. But we are recommending that you get a badass leather jacket like Carrie has, borrow some of her confidence, and go out for the night.

I HOPE by Gabby Barrett

Carrie Underwood isn’t the only one to put out a memorable anti-cheating song. Gabby Barrett’s ‘I Hope’ says what every one of us are thinking when we run into an ex and their new girlfriend. She starts out by telling her ex that she hopes this new girl makes him happier than he’s ever been. It may seem like Gabby is being way too gracious, but then we get to the chorus and it all makes sense when she sings, “I hope she comes along and wrecks every one of your plans/I hope you spend your last dime to put a rock on her hand/I hope she's wilder than your wildest dreams/She's everything you're ever gonna need/And then I hope she cheats/Like you did on me”

Enough of the cheating songs. Anti-Valentine’s Day doesn’t have to mean you’re heartbroken or angry. Sometimes it’s just better to be single. And what better way to express that then going out with the girls?

THAT DON’T IMPRESS ME MUCH by Shania Twain

Looking for a song to listen to while you get ready to go out? Put yourself in the right mindset with Shania Twain’s ‘That Don’t Impress Me Much’. Cars? Good looks? Fancy jobs? They may fool some girls but not you. It’s going to take a lot more than that to win your heart. So hold tight to your standards and stick with the girls while you tell these guys, “That don’t impress me much...”

SOMETHING BAD by Miranda Lambert and Carrie Underwood

Two of country’s strongest women on one track? Yes please. If you’re feeling like causing a little trouble tonight, then let Miranda Lambert and Carrie Underwood be your accomplices. In ‘something bad ‘ the duo sing about their plans for the night, and that they’ve “got a real good feeling something bads about to happen.

RED HIGH HEELS by Kellie Pickler

Kelly Pickler is one women who waits for no one. If a guy isn’t where he says he’ll be, that’s fine by her. She just puts on some high heels and finds her own fun. And in ‘Red High Heels” that’s what she encourages you to do as well. Kelly tells the guy she is waiting for that “you say that you'll call and you don't and I'm spinnin' my wheels/So I'm goin' out tonight in my red high heels”

BETTER THINGS TO DO by Terri Clarke

Another woman who isn’t wasting any time thinking about love is Terri Clark. In her song ‘Better Thing to Do’ she actually lists all of the things she would rather do than pine over a lost love. With lyrics like “I could wash my car in the rain/Change my new guitar strings/Mow the yard just the same as I did yesterday” it’s obvious that she believes thinking about a man is more pointless than this list of senseless tasks. Crying over a man is most certainly not on her agenda.

Sometimes you just need to get away. Start fresh with nothing but you and the open road.

ONE WAY TICKET by LeAnn Rimes

In ‘One Way Ticket’ by LeAnn Rimes, she buys a ticket to somewhere out west, and is ready to open herself up to a new adventure. It’s both scary and exhilarating, which she admits when she sings “I can feel my heart beating faster as I step out on my own/There's a new horizon and the promise of favorable wind”. Despite her fears, she looks forward to what’s ahead, proclaiming “I'm gonna go out dancing in the pouring rain/And talk to someone I don't know/I'm gonna buy a one way ticket on a west bound train/Gonna have my breakfest with some pink champagne/I'm gonna sail the ocean, I'm gonna spread my wings/Gonna climb that mountain/Gonna do everyting”

WORTH IT by Danielle Bradbery

Who says you can’t be your own Valentine? Go ahead, fall in love with yourself. Buy yourself flowers and chocolate and don’t share with anyone. At the end of the day, loving yourself is the best Valentine’s gift of all. And to help remind yourself of that, the next song on this playlist is ‘Worth it’ by Danielle Bradbery. Before you start feeling like anything less than a princess, put this on and take to heart the lyrics “I'm worth it/You're crazy baby if you think that I don't know it”

LOVE ME MORE by Maggie Rose

Speaking of knowing your own worth, no one expresses that better than Maggie Rose in her song ‘Love Me More’. This song admits that it can be easy to lose yourself in a relationship, with memorable lines such as “I was losing myself until you lost me.” She recognizes the need to love oneself in order to heal, and puts herself back together by doing just that. She goes out with the mindset that “ I'm gonna do whatever it takes to get living again/I got a few scrapes, but I'm back in my skin/Every mistake, I'm owning it/I'm making sure I'm who I'm doing this for”

There you have it - the perfect Anti-Valentine’s day playlist, courtesy of some of country music’s greatest females. So next time Cupid tries aiming that deadly weapon at you, turn your radio on and run the other way.

playlist
4

About the Creator

Kristen Nazzaro

Photographer. Writer. Attorney. Wife. Driven by insatiable wanderlust.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.