Beat logo

How Music Saved My Life

Its positive effects on anxiety and depression

By Mitchell RobinsonPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
John Mayer at the Bell Center in Montreal

"That's one of the great things about music. You can sing a song to 85,000 people and they'll sing it back for 85,000 different reasons."

This quote from Dave Grohl (drummer of Nirvana and singer/guitarist for the Foo Fighters) has stuck with me for as long as I could remember. I believe it completely encompasses the true meaning and function music has in our society.

To use Dave's reasoning, the "true" meaning music has in our society today is entirely subjective, and will undoubtedly be interpreted differently by each individual. For example, while the heavy metal genre might bring a sense of heightened anxiety and discomfort to some, that same music can help others to relax and have the complete opposite effect on their mental state. There are no rules when it comes to music. No right or wrong. The benefits are based solely on the feelings held by the listener at that moment in time.

Which brings me to my story. Now, to be clear, my story consists of both listening to music and playing the guitar. However, this still very much applies to those who only consider themselves listeners and have never touched an instrument in their lives.

My goal is to shed some light on the benefits I have personally gained from the music I create and the music created by my favourite artists - to hopefully help and inspire you if are currently struggling with anxiety and depression. To let you know that it is okay and you are not alone with these feelings. If nothing else, I hope that reading this will provide you with a sense of peace and calm - even if it is just for a few minutes.

I had my first experience with feeling very anxious when I was about 6 years old, and I have been in an internal struggle with anxiety ever since. However, being so young I did not fully comprehend why I was feeling this way - I just knew what I was feeling and that it did not feel good whatsoever.

I learned later on, when I started 7th grade, that it stemmed from certain childhood traumas, some of which I still carry with me to this day. Not to get into too many unnecessary details, but this is when I realized these feelings were not just going to disappear over time. I needed something more.

My dad would always be playing guitar at home. He would play and sing old Tom Petty classics like "Free Fallin'" or Neil Young tunes like "Heart of Gold". I just remember feeling a sense of calm during those moments, not necessarily understanding why. But at 11 or 12 years old, that was the least of my worries. I felt good and I wanted to continue feeling this way. In my mind I was going to iron out the "how" and "why" when those opportunities presented themselves to me. I was by no means searching for answers at this point.

This led to my introduction to various artists - the earliest ones I can recall. My dad had a CD compilation of artists including Tom Petty, Stevie Ray Vaughan (SRV), Pink Floyd and The Eagles. The tracks were in a completely random order, sort of like hitting shuffle. I remember feeling so different while listening to a Pink Floyd song versus an SRV song. I was immediately captivated by the powerful emotions emanating from these artists, and my surprising visceral reactions to them.

My transition from listening to wanting to play guitar was quite an effortless one. I remember telling my dad "I want to make people feel the way these guys make me feel." I did not know how important this statement would be to me until 2014 when my mental health plummeted.

I would escape to my music room for hours a day just listening and playing music. Song after song, album after album, the time would just pass by quicker - and I was very okay with that.

What is it about music that allows us to escape reality?

I believe it is because everyone on this planet can relate to it. It has the power to speak to every single one of us differently. We can all find what we need in any given song. There is without a doubt a song that makes you feel good at this moment. At the same time, there is another song that you just cannot bring yourself to listen to for any number of reasons; whether it brings up bad memories or is a style of music you simply cannot relate to. Of course, these songs can change and be replaced over time, but being aware of this is the first step to feeling the benefits music has to offer.

There were a couple of albums that helped me through the most difficult times in my life. Those being "Continuum" by John Mayer and "Blackbird" by Alter Bridge. The song "Gravity" by Mayer and "Blackbird" by Alter Bridge stand out. I found hope and inspiration in the lyrics and I was able to relate to the emotion being conveyed by the artists themselves - in the melody and performance. I believe it is this marriage between the explicit (lyrics) and implicit (feelings) that gave me space to breathe when I was having a panic attack, or allowed me to refocus when I was too depressed to get out of bed. Actively listening to music you enjoy and relate to gives you the ability to regain control over your mental health. It allows you to find your own motivation for focusing on YOU and what YOU need to feel better.

Playing music has a very similar effect on me. It gives me my own voice and a way to express my feelings without having to say a single word. It is a different experience every time. I play guitar differently when I am overthinking versus when I have a clear mind. It demonstrates the perfect harmony between body and mind. My mental state is immediately manifested in the physical realm; having my hands create sounds that describe how I feel when words cannot do it justice.

As cliche as it is, music really is a universal language. It is quite literally for everyone. Music does not discriminate. It does not judge. It exists to connect people. It exists to help people. Helping cope with anxiety and depression is only a small fraction of what music can do.

Music heals. Music is powerful. Next time you listen to your favourite song, I encourage you to do just that. LISTEN. Do not do it while you are cooking or endlessly scrolling through your Instagram newsfeed. Let listening be the only thing you are doing for those 3 to 5 minutes. Tune in to what your body is telling you during that time. I think what you discover will leave you feeling pleasantly surprised and ultimately wanting more.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Mitchell Robinson

I’m a musician and studied behavioural neuroscience in University. I’m in a band, and play sports.Creativity is one of the greatest forms of entertainment. It’s completely subjective and there are no rules or limits to what you can create!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.