Beat logo

How I became a classical pianist

Here’s the story of my journey into classical music (2012-2020)

By Diego SalzaniPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
From percussions to piano!

As a kid I’ve always been fascinated by music, I remember waiting without patience the marching band in the main square of my home town in Italy, literally every Sunday! And how could I forget my 6 years old self listening to pop music with his cassette player from the 90’s? They main plot twist happened in those years, where my parents asked me if I wanted to play any instrument and, I really don’t know why, I answered “DRUMS!”; and my journey started right there.

I can still remember my first lesson of music, I was 7 yo and my mother was holding my hand as we entered the room, believe me ... I was amazed to see all those instruments! (They took me to a marching band music school that also had an orchestra). Sad to say that my music professor didn’t show me any drum until I was 8! They’ve made me take one full year of music theory where I learned all the basics or reading and writing music. After that tremendously boring part, I finally started playing going trough different genres: pop, blues, jazz, swing and of course orchestral music where I played in the percussions section (movies soundtracks mainly). I’ve studied drums for almost 9 years and then left to fully dedicate myself to the piano.

The year 2012 is very important in this part of the story, because that year I’ve started taking piano lessons. I had a vertical piano at home that my mother used to play in the 80’s when she was younger, but then left taking up dust until I started. In my school there was this music program where students could take lessons of four different instruments (piano, clarinet, flute and violin) so I applied and been accepted.

Lessons started and my interest in the instrument too, my knowledge on music theory helped me a lot and my teacher started to invest time with me in order to develop my hands and my ability to play classical music. Lessons where hard and I studied at least 1 and a half hour a day. But I loved it and also became good at it, so after almost 1 year of lessons I made my first competitions and concerts, where I really started to dive myself in the amazing world of classical music. The music program was 3 years long but I wanted to continue so I joined my piano teacher in her academy where things started to get serious!

From 2015 I’m finally part of “Academia Amadeus”, an Italian academy that gave me priceless opportunities! I’ve partecipated to a lot of competitions and won a lot of them, I’ve had the chance to play piano concertos with orchestras and to develop a complete new understanding of classical music.

By now, July 2020 piano is and will always be a foundamental thing in my life... music IS something you can express your feelings with and a place where we go to heal ourselves and feel better. I couldn’t imagine my life without music, because it’s power is infinite.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.