Beat logo

Hopeful Sounds with an Emotional Twist

An Inspiring (and slightly cynical) Quarantine Playlist

By Ashley Nestler, MSWPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

During this time, I have found comfort in songs that help me to have a strong sense of hope (with a cynical twist), inspire me to experience, express, and release my intense emotions - which all of the following songs are good for. My music taste is quite eclectic, but each song in this playlist represents a piece of my soul. I hope that it brings you some joy during this time!

Hopeful Sounds

1) Fast Car by Tracy Chapman

Fast Car by Tracy Chapman is my absolute favorite song of all time. It fills me with so much hope that better times are ahead, and it reminds me to take pleasure in the little things.

2) Strangers in a Car by Marc Cohn

Strangers in a Car by Marc Cohn is just such a beautifully composed song, and it fills my soul with such a gorgeous melancholy feeling that I adore.

3) Learning to Fly by Tom Petty

I am a huge Tom Petty fan (RIP ☹) and Learning to Fly is probably one of my favorite songs by him. This song fills me with a calm joy that is pleasing when I am in a foul mood.

4) Dance Monkey by Tones and I

Dance Monkey by Tones and I is a wildly popular song right now, and it has been for quite some time, but I can’t help it, I absolutely love this song! Dance Monkey gets me up and dancing, which is perfect during quarantine.

5) Good as Hell by Lizzo

Lizzo is my idol, I adore how body positive she is, and she has taught me how to love myself when it seemed impossible. Good as Hell boosts my self-confidence and it is the perfect love-yourself track.

6) Life in a Northern Town by The Dream Academy

There is something about Life in a Northern Town by The Dream Academy that is just so pleasant to listen to. As soon as I hear this song I am immediately put at peace, and it reminds me of all of my favorite childhood movies.

7) Stronger by Kanye West

Stronger by Kanye West is just super fun to sing along to, and it is a great confidence booster. It is my come back track.

8) Street Lights by Kanye West

Street Lights by Kanye West, like Fast Car by Tracy Chapman brings me hope in tomorrow and continuing to dream despite all of the uncertainty.

9) 7 Years by Lukas Graham

I feel like 7 Years by Lukas Graham is another song that goes well with Street Lights by Kanye West and Fast Car by Tracy Chapman. It makes me reflect on my life and it fills me with a deep, nostalgic feeling.

10) Handlebars by The Flobots

Handlebars by The Flobots simply makes me feel like I can do anything, I love how powerful and alternative it is!

11) Cold War by Janelle Monae

Janelle Monae’s voice makes me reminiscent of singers from the 1940s, and Cold War is the perfect song for independence.

12) Rebel Yell by Billy Idol

Rebel Yell by Billy Idol is my go to anthem when I’m feeling feisty.

13) We Didn't Start the Fire by Billy Joel

We Didn’t Start the Fire by Billy Joel fills me with so many 80s vibes that I just can’t stand it.

14) Walking in Memphis by Marc Cohn

Walking in Memphis by Marc Cohn is a song that I can’t help but sing at the top of my lungs. It is perfect for when you are home alone and dying to belt out your voice.

15) It's the End of the World as We Know It (And I Feel Fine) by R.E.M.

I just had to add a cynical note to my playlist, and It’s the End of the World as We Know It (And I Feel Fine) is my perfect anthem on that note. It doesn’t need any further explanation.

playlist
Like

About the Creator

Ashley Nestler, MSW

Ashley Nestler is a Bibliotherapist and a survivor of Schizoaffective Disorder, OCD, Quiet Borderline Personality, Fibromyalgia,multiple eating disorders, and C-PTSD. Ashley has dedicated her life to books and advocating for mental health.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.