Beat logo

Hickory Dickory Dock

Foreword

By KitPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

Everything begins with an ending.

~

A blank page. A new start. That is what I desired most. You know how the saying goes: be careful what you wish for. You never truly understand it until you find yourself living what should have been the most wonderous dream but has instead become your worst nightmare. Wow, I’m already getting side-tracked can you believe that when I began with such a clear purpose in mind. It has become muddled and dreary like the cold September morning which cloaks this godforsaken world. Even now my fingers are faltering on the keys, trying to find the right ones to play you their story in the dark.

But wait first I shall begin with:

C minor – a shallow grey disappearing into the cacophony of colours which each scream at me to be heard, to be noticed, to be called. It is not these that such catch my attention but the winding trail of despair that is left in their wake, a gliding grey trying its best to fit in with the crowd. Most would catch you out of the corner of their eye, do a double take yet you have disappeared into the fabric of our world. Never to be seen again. A faint whisper in the wind calling your attention yet gone in the next second. A ghost of music and despair. The very opposite of what music is always desired. At least that’s what I thought, you have visited me many times; a cascading whistle just before I drop off the edge of a waterfall, one in which the world tends to fade away just slightly more is only one.

Then of course we have:

E major- a chilly relief on a boiling day, wind washing over you in waves as you bask in all its glory. I see you among the daisies that dance upon the graveyards, a joyous creeping melody caught up in death. Watching you infiltrate peoples hearts has become one of my many hobbies, sometimes wishing that I could experience that hollowing joy. You bring such opposites together in a perfect rhythm- yin and yang – and I no longer feel so alone. I dream of you every night as you seep into my coffin six feet under, feeling the beauty of all that lives and breathes above.

The list goes on for eternity but don’t worry the most significant ones will pay us a visit.

Of course, these observations are made by someone who has never tasted music upon the tip of their tongue. But has rather felt it in their heart of all hearts, flowing through their veins, the only thing connecting them to their previous life. I only have me, myself and I for company. As well as the soft music which plays above, from dawn till dusk until their final day. The day when such everyone will join me and the world will rejoice.

Music.

The only constant in this changing world. Sometimes you may wonder what music feels if it can make you feel such a way. Or maybe that’s just me wondering about the effects I have on people. I used to see it every day, embrace each and every one of those beautiful souls and entwine myself around their hearts in whichever way they most loved. Whether it be hardcore rock or classical, I was always there to save the day. Now I am not so sure about what is happening on The Abophe (above), if people miss my presence or have learned to live without me as I have with them.

If you haven’t guessed already, I have been cast down into the depths of deadly despair by those who fear me. Never to revel in the emotions which poured from souls all around me, never to feed the starving with anything they desired. What do you desire the most? First I will tell you of my final wish. To sing once again.

Now please, I beg you, let me sing you a song. One last melody before I lay to rest for eternity.

Let me sing you the song of Hael Whimsy until we both fall asleep.

Beware it will quickly change from a soft lullaby to a pounding beat but do not fear, my dearest, for I will keep you safe.

This will be my final beginning and my last ending.

~

All things will cease to exist.

Everything has to come to an end.

It just depends on when and where that ending begins.

And, of course, who.

Might you accurately guess who the who is,

where the where is

and when the when is,

it will be too late.

All too late.

You must accept that we only have today,

there is no promise of the future,

the past is too far gone.

Now and only now does your ending begin.

To truly be able to sing the song of Hael Whimsy, I will have to start at the very end or rather two similar ends.

~

humanity
1

About the Creator

Kit

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.