Beat logo

Heaven Knows I'm Miserable Now

The Anti-Valentine's Day playlist(s) you didn't know you needed.

By Jesse BixbyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Heaven Knows I'm Miserable Now
Photo by Natalie Cardona on Unsplash

So you're not a big fan of Valentine's Day? Me neither. To be totally honest, I think that Valentine's Day is just a made-up holiday aimed to get us to spend our money on products our partners don't even really need. Don't get me wrong, I love love. I just don't need a fictional holiday to prove it. I'd rather spoil my partner on a random day rather than a day where everyone is forced to remember to do so.

I don't know, the holiday is a bit off to me. I swear, I'm not bitter over love. It just seems a bit staged, where corporate chocolate companies win and consumerism is at its best. Besides, I don't want a card and a box of chocolates; I just want quality time with my loved ones. My love language is definitely not receiving gifts, but rather acts of service.

If you don't know what your love language is, you can find out here!

So if you're like me and Valentine's Day is just another, well, day... here's a groovy playlist that'll ensure you have a good time while listening. But if you're bitter over Valentine's because you don't have one, keep reading.

I've put together an Anti-Valentine's day playlist for those who are single today and feeling the anger, sadness, or pain that comes along with heartbreak. I've categorized this playlist into different genres and there's truly a song for everyone.

Rock 'n roll

Rock 'n roll is the best music to listen to if you are not feeling the Valentine's day festivities. Ain't no room for love in rock music. Some of my favourite anti-love classics are:

Love Hurts by Nazareth

Tainted Love by Soft Cell

Should I Stay or Should I Go by The Clash

Alone Again by The King Khan & BBQ Show

Tush by ZZ Top

Tear You Apart by She Wants Revenge

You can always trust Nazareth and ZZ Top to get you through bitter times. I've also included Three Days Grace, The Cars, and KISS in the playlist.

Pop

There are far too many pop artists who sing about the troubles of breaking up and making up and I had a hard time picking some of my favourites from the playlist. Madison Beer is a great artist to listen to if you're feeling like you hate love with songs like BOYSHIT and Good In Goodbye, but I also love these tracks:

Home With You by Madison Beer

Potential Breakup Song by Aly & AJ (A new explicit version was released and all of our early 2000's dreams came true.)

Our Day Will Come by Amy Winehouse

You should be sad by Halsey

Joke's On You by Charlotte Lawrence

Thank U, Next by Ariana Grande

Again, Ariana Grande is another artist with some amazing anti-Valentine's bangers like NASA and 7 Rings. I could've spent all day adding pop songs to my playlist, so here's my glam and girly playlist featuring female artists that has tons of tracks that are the same vibe:

Hip hop

Hip hop is easily my favourite genre of music so it was easy to compile some tracks for this playlist, featuring my all-time favourites Mac Miller and Kid Cudi:

Erase Me by Kid Cudi and Kanye West

Roses by Outcast

BOYBYE by BROCKHAMPTON

SAD! by XXXTENTACION

Hurt Feelings by Mac Miller

Barbie Dreams by Nicki Minaj

Basically anything by Nicki Minaj will add fuel to the fire that is anti-Valentine.

Indie

I added some old classics to this playlist like The 1975 and Tame Impala only because they are universally loved for good reasons. My favourite indie songs to this day made the list:

Somebody Else by The 1975

List Of People (To Try And Forget About) by Tame Impala

Why'd You Only Call Me When You're High? by Arctic Monkeys

Heaven Knows I'm Miserable Now by The Smiths

Chained by The xx

We Don't Deserve Love by Arcade Fire

And we can't forget about the smash hit The Less I Know The Better by Tame Impala. F*ck Trevor, right?

You can find these songs and more in my playlist on Spotify. Follow me for more music recommendations as I always keep my music updated!

playlist
1

About the Creator

Jesse Bixby

Freelance writer in Vancouver, BC.

Instagram: @babybix

TikTok: @jessbixby

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.