Beat logo

Headphones In

Teenage Playlist

By Ruby Estelle Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Over the years my music preferences changed drastically. When I was in my teenage years I listened to mostly rock, some rap, and nothing of what I currently have in my daily playlist. Everything that I used to listen to was emo or rock and nothing like the music preferences I have now a days. I rarely ever still listen to the music that I would play on repeat in my teenage years. The music that I would remember the lyrics for by heart. Is it strange I've wondered or is this the same for everyone?

When I was a teenager in highschool Linkin Park, Crossfade, Three Days Grace, Breaking Benjamin, Green Day, Tech n9ne, Seether and Papa Roach practically dominated my playlists more than anything else. Just to name a few of my favorite artists being it that there were plenty more! When I was under the weather and even when I wasn't I would listen to my favorites over and over again. What kind of music did you listen to as a teenager? Do you still listen to your old favorites or have your preferences changed drastically as time has passed and a new era of music has surfaced to what is "in"?

My favorite songs from these artists were a big handful! Naming a few is easy, but all of them? There is far too many. Somewhere I belong, Crawling, One Step Closer, Castle Of Glass, and Bleed It out where some I would play on repeat by Linkin Park. Maybe because they were on the Zune my brother gave me, or maybe because they were just really good! Crossfade also found its way on repeat when I would be playing my favorite tunes, songs like Colors, So Far Away, Starless, The Deep End, and more. Three Days Grace songs that of course the majority of us know? I Hate Everything About You, Never Too Late, Animal I have become, and Get Out Alive. Breaking Benjamin was one that my sister introduced me too and my favorites that I could probably still kind of sing along to if I listened to them these days were The Diary Of Jane, Breathe, Cold, Dance With The Devil, and I Will Not Bow.

By this time your probably thinking that is a lot of songs to have as my favorites but in fact they all were! Not to mention Boulevard Of Broken Dreams, and Wake Me Up When September Ends by Greenday. (Although I've got to say my dad wasn't a fan and broke my burned CD into a million little pieces when I said a swear word once blaming it directly on my choice of music) Tech N9ne also taking up space in my list of well known favorites! Songs like Caribou Lou, Am I a Psycho, Dysfunctional, Riot Maker, and Slacker. Last Resort and Scars by Papa Roach were also my number ones being it that I had many. And let's not forget fake it by Seether!

These songs were an important part of my adolescence because I felt like they completely related to the way that I'd feel! Not only that some of them were the only music that I really had access to because they were in my Zune that I would play on the bus, in bed, doing homework, and where ever else. When I needed good music or something on repeat that was relatable to what I was going through these were some of the songs that I would enjoy more so than not. Although I certainly had my happy music that I would play as well. Like many kids growing up through the adversity of high school drama, family troubles, and broken hearts these songs understood.

Not to mention my favorites by The Hanson Brothers, Amy Grant, Hillary Duff and so many more! I grew up loving a little bit of everything and as you can tell didn't have just a couple of favorites but many favorites because music is too good to just have a few. These songs got me through tough times and good times in a way that nothing and no one else could. Even just those dying of boredom moments on the school bus. Thinking back on your teenage playlist what were some of your favorites? Do you still listen to them and keep them on your current playlists?

Photo Credit

playlist
Like

About the Creator

Ruby Estelle

Im Kezia, Family oriented & fun, loving, nature, people, music & animal lover. photographer, writer, cook, artist, lover & creator! I aspire world venture, vlogging, making a foundation, having a positive impact & inspiring you💕

🙏🌍🌏🌎☮️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.