Beat logo

Have a Hardcore Halloween

Halloween playlist challenge entry

By Dyllon RodillonPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
8
Have a Hardcore Halloween
Photo by Sabina Music Rich on Unsplash

For as long as I can remember: Halloween has/is/ and will always be hands down my favorite holiday and in general favorite time of the year. From the costumes, music, parties, cool/cold weather, and the spooky atmosphere I love everything Halloween has to offer. Shame it only comes around once a year. Now we all know the classics for this time of the year. Songs like: Monster Mash, Thriller, This is Halloween, I put a spell on you, etc are all classics. I love them all, however I already know they're going to be discussed to death in general let alone for this challenge. So I decided why not throw in my own choices for songs that can easily become classics give the chance. As always in no particular order.

Fair warning there might be some explicit language in some of these songs so please don't play this at a grade school costume contest or anything like that. Once again, you've been warned.

Violence (Enough is enough)- A Day To Remember

I know I talk about ADTR pretty often, but let's be honest that's not going to change any time soon. The name of the song pretty much tells it all. Given the chance, this will be my entrance music for when I become a professional wrestler. But that's a topic for another day. Anyways I just love the intensity this song brings and it's a great way to get everyone hype during your party or anything like that.

"Violence give me violence

'Cause they say we're the worthless ones

Substance give me substance

Heavy lies the crown as I cut you down" x2

Revive- The Devil Wears Prada

Well first off this song comes from the appropriately named "Zombie EP" by The Devil Wears Prada. So points right off the bat there. I have listened to all the other songs on this EP but for some reason I just love "Revive". This one sticks out above all the others to me.

"We cannot restore

We cannot recover

All is lost

In the flood of the risen dead

We cannot restore

We cannot recover

All is lost

In the storm of the disgraceful"

Zombie- The Cranberries

Probably the most well known song in the general public. This song is just iconic, sadly I don't hear it around too much at parties or anything like that. But bonus points for the "The Korean Zombie" Chan Sung Jung for using it as his entrance music. Just give the song a listen and you'll hear why it needs to come back to the light and be played WAY more during that magical time of year. RIP Delores O'Riordan.

"In your head, in your head

Zombie, zombie, zombie-ie-ie

What's in your head, in your head

Zombie, zombie, zombie-ie-ie

Oh oh oh oh oh oh oh, ay, oh, ya ya"

Skulls- Misfits

Honestly everything about The Misfits is just all around spooky starting from their logo, then comes this song. Sadly there is not much to say but that is kind of how punk music is especially back then. So I will just let you listen to it with a link posted below. But it is exactly what you would expect from a punk song named just "Skulls".

"I want your skull

I need your skull

I want your skull

I need your skull"

Coheed and Cambria

Did you watch the 2009 film "9", yes? Then you remember the trailers and this epic song with the incredible first riff. This song just gets your heart going and never stops. I won't be including any lyrics to the song because quite honestly the most iconic part is the opening riff and I don't know how to read music nor write music, so have a listen for yourselves.

Crazy Train- Ozzy Osbourne

I mean, come on did you really think I was going to leave off the Prince of Darkness himself? Ozzy is an absolute legend. The opening riff to this song in particular is just amazing and I'd definitely choose this song to be the music around my haunted house.

"Mental wounds still screaming

Driving me insane

I'm going off the rails on a crazy train

I'm going off the rails on a crazy train"

Soothsayer-Buckethead

From the legendary guitarist Buckethead comes one of my all time favorite songs by him. That is next to his song "Jordan" which was featured on "Guitar Hero" back in the day. It's a pretty long song clocking in a over 9 minutes long with no spoken lyrics, making it a great song to have in the background either as the party is starting or as the night is coming to a close.

I had a blast writing this article and I know I left a TON of great songs off the list. I'd love to continue to do more of these, songs that encapsulate the mood and spirit of their respective season/holiday. I might do more if this article does particularly well so give it love if you've enjoyed this article! Of course with that being said, don't forget to have a safe and happy Halloween everyone!!

Thank you for your time, I hope you enjoyed what you have read today, feel free to subscribe. I have plenty of different articles on many different topics, if you so choose to check them out. Also if you would be so kind, I would greatly appreciate a heart. Lastly; if you really feel so inclined tips are always appreciated but by no means required.

playlist
8

About the Creator

Dyllon Rodillon

Jack of all trades, master of none.

Feel free to use my link to sign up for vocal+

https://vocal.media/authors/dyllon-rodillon?via=dyllonrodillon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.