Beat logo

Fun Times At Vanity High & Afterwards

Top 14 songs that are played more than 80 times in my iTunes library.

By A. Marie GrahamPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

L$D - A$AP Rocky

This song was peak senior year me. It describes my most intimate thoughts and private emotions. Teenage me was a whole mess that couldn’t really think of anything past that for the most part. It just describes where my mind was at. It describes everything I ever wanted and couldn’t have at this time.

Dark Paradise - Lana Del Rey

I swore I found the person of my dreams, but who hasn’t at this age? Obviously I was being dramatic because the intensity of this song does not match what I was feeling then and I know this now, but back then, when I was sixteen, I played this song every time I thought of them. Which was a lot

Teen Idle - Marina and The Diamonds

I had my first major depressive episode when I was sixteen. When I listened to this song, at the time it was one of the only things that kept me from feeling truly alone, because I knew that, if not just the artist, there was someone else out there in the world that felt as empty and unbearably sad like I did.

One of Them Days - Kiana Lede

At the time I didn’t know what was happening to me. My friends and family worried about me constantly. I was just faking my happiness and they all knew it. Then suddenly I’d feel better, full of energy and happier than I’ve ever been before. It was just me dealing with hormones, is what I thought, so I’d just brush them off as “one of those days”. I still love this song but I know better now.

Turning Out - AJR

One of my really good friends at the time was going through a rough time. I could feel her pulling further and further into herself. She never wanted to hang out anymore or just be with each other. She was always so sad but she always acted like everything was ok. About a year after graduation, she committed suicide. When I listen to this song, I can’t help but feel angry. We were just kids and we still had our whole lives ahead of us. We were still trying to find ourselves. I guess she never will.

Vanilla Twilight - Owl City

This was a song that my friend who committed suicide recommended to me. It’s such a bittersweet song that fits our relationship perfectly, especially now. I miss her so much. When we had our sleepovers, when we stayed out late at night...homecoming when we were in our freshman year..instead of going to the evening pep rally, us and a few other friends played tag under the moonlight on the football field. I said that she was one of my good friends when really, she was the best and I miss her everyday.

The Saltwater Room - Owl City

There was a boy I had a crush on and we were just friends but we would always flirt. So it kind of felt like there was always this will they/won’t they energy around us and it was so palpable. Now when I look back at it I wonder if we could’ve been, but I feel like that’s just me mostly.

Count On Me - Bruno Mars

My current best friend of almost ten years, we met when we were twelve and we’ve been inseparable since. While in our first year of college, we went to different schools so it was tough, but we called each other all the time. She called me crying once about a boy and I was there (literally, I drove five hours to get to her). Recently she moved away for a job. But, I don’t really feel all that sad because I know that we’ll always have each other's back.

Young, Wild, and Free - Snoop Dog, Wiz Khalifa, Bruno Mars

My first month away from home at college, this right here was my absolute shit. I felt so young and so free. I went to so many parties. There were so many late nights binging and smoking with the friends that I made. This song reminds me of really good times.

City Is Ours - Big Time Rush

When my friends and I were younger, we used to go to the city a lot. We spent so much time there we had even considered living there together when we were older. We obviously got older and quickly grew out of that phase, but I mean we never forget to remind ourselves that the world is ours.

Dear Maria Count Me In - All Time Low

Me and my friends went through a scene phase. Honestly, that’s how we all became friends, because we all knew the same songs and we loved bands and the bright colors with the studded belt accessories. It was a wild time for us kiddies.

Smile - Avril Lavigne

This is my theme song, more or less. This is the kind of crazy, passionate, wild love that I look for, that I want one day. I’ve always been a go with the wind kind of person. I’ve always been an independent girl who always love doing her own thing and to have someone that adores me based off of me just being me is awesome.

Alive - Krewella (Acoustic)

This version of this song is so simple and beautiful and I love it. The raw energy of just being in the moment is the most realistic vibe I’ve ever felt. I think it’s important to live in the now. So many people are always trying to capture it, you miss out on all the rest of the moments trying to capture that one good moment.

Young Blood - Bea Miller

Sometimes you need a reminder that the world owes you nothing and that if you want something, you need to go after it with everything you’ve got. There will be good and there will be bad, you have to take them both as they are. In my opinion, this song is a lovely powerful reminder of that.

playlist
Like

About the Creator

A. Marie Graham

Though I’m not sure if I’m any good, still, I just really like to write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.