Beat logo

Forsaken Profits

A band review from a bookers point of view

By Salina BrillaPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1
Forsaken Profits

A Band Review from a bookers point of view

My name is Salina Brilla. I book shows in Huntsville Alabama. I have a podcast with Spice Radio Huntsville called Red Magic Imports. I make a YouTube Channel called DIYLive Huntsville with a friend of mine where we record and interview bands. I work with underground to midlevel bands local and world wide. I write about shows I see and bands I know.

Forsaken Profits is a thrash metal/hardcore punk/skate band from Atlanta Georgia. They describe themselves on facebook as a drinking band with a punk problem. Their biography states "Hate City Thrash" established 2012 by Tyler Capeheart. He is the vocalist. The other members are Ty Watkins drummer, Jermaine Payne bass, and Bryan Kyle guitar.

When I was working as the music co-ordinator at Coppertop Dive N Dine I often booked bands I did not know or had not heard of before at the suggestion of my friends. This is one of those bands. I don't remember much of the first show I saw them play, I'm a punk with an occasional drinking problem.

The first show that I remember seeing the band perform, my impression of them was, dedicated. Capeheart had to fly out for work the same night they were scheduled to play. Instead of canceling the show they still traveled over three hours to the venue, played earlier then originally scheduled and traveled back.

I wrote a review for our local zine GAD! about that show it was in March 2019:

"Another Saturday night at the Copper top, this evening started out with Forsaken Profits, a well Put together Skate Punk band from Atlanta Georgia. They are all things skate from the Skatopia sticker on the drums to the bass being made from a wooden skate board. These guys aren't f@cking around. A charismatic frontman leads the band and audience on a wild Jizz exploding ride, and they even have a rag for that. Jizz Rag shirts for $7. Musically these guys seem to belong together with a flow that is unique and designed specifically for them. Thier frontman isn't the only vocals, the drummer gets in on them too, and they seem to genuinely just be having fun. I imagine a practice isn't much different with nothing held back and good times spewing forth. Get thier music for free to download on bandcamp."

My favorite part of that show has a back story. Coppertop had recently built a dart room. They included a stage so that we could have shows in a larger space. That night was suppose to be the first show in it, but instead they booked a dart tournament and music was pushed back into it's usual corner. During Forsaken's set Capeheart entered the dart room and sang through a bull horn to all the dart players. It made me very happy.

Recently the band put out their seventh musical release and third full length EP entittled Destroy The Evidence. I did get to here it before it's release while driving to Nashville. My friend was dating the drummer at the time and super excited that his vocals are on the tracks. I like the album, it's raw, political, fun, and mastered very well. You know you are listening to something that took time, ingenuity, and talent to create.

My friends use to tell me about house shows at a place called The Dragon's Den in Atlanta. We booked a bit of the same bands. Sometimes I'm not very good at paying attention and recently I was made aware that The Dragon's Den was actually the home of Forsaken Profits, as in it was the home of Tyler Capeheart. The venue maybe closed and the Profits have moved on but the Facebook page is still up. I gave it a visit and spent almost two hours of my life, that I don't want back, watching video's of what happened in that house. I would have really liked that place. I also learned about Apocalypse Productions which is Mr. Capeheart's company and what he used to document the happenings in his home. Most of the videos are high quality, well edited, and produced. For a Facebook page it is super impressive and I'll go back to it again just to watch some of the performances. In the video's people are sitting on the porch, or in the living room, and there are full bands in the performance area where the mosh pits occurred. If you are into punk music go to this page. There are videos of Blue Tower, Spray Tan, Some Kind Of Nightmare and a bunch of other bands.

Forsaken Profits tours alot. My friend Adam Harmless who creates GAD! Zine wrote "this is what music sounds like when you've really made it your life." If you want to know what punk/thrash/metal/skate looks and feels like in real life look out for them in your town. I'll host them again in mine. Especially if a venue does as Coppertop did and I need some boys to do some fearless punk rock sh@t. For the record they did play that venue again.

album reviews
1

About the Creator

Salina Brilla

I am a Writer, Artist, Tarot Reader, Music Booker and Promoter. I write poetry and paint when I have something inside of me that needs to come out. I write about bands, Tarot, concepts and idea's I feel the necessity to share with others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.