Beat logo

Feel the Music

Heal the Music

By Dawn ElizabethPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like
These amazing little scribbles do so much!

So music is powerful. Music is emotive. It can create so much of an atmosphere, but then conversely, it can disperse the thickest of discomfort. Truly, music is the literal equivalent of actual magic.

For as long as I can remember, music has been a large part of my life. I do have a tendency to get 'hyper-focused' on a specific band for a little while, but generally I do not conform to listen to one type of genre or music.

I have always been amazed at the idea of music therapy. An ingenious way healing and coping with the mechanics that is music. Musicians are naturally very emotional people. The music heals them as an outlet. Though equally, the fan of music can also be healed. It creates a common ground between these individuals we put on pedestals and is quite inspiring and it is quite easy to see how people can become so infatuated and it is complimentary to the artistry behind their art.

Art is beautiful but art is subjective.

Whilst I don't alienate genres, there are some types that I find it hard to mesh with than others. I do not always like to listen to 'bubblegum pop', simply that I cannot relate to the bubbly happy optimism of this kind. It is so much fun for parties and I enjoy that, but on the idea of emotional attachment to songs, this just isn't for me.

I also do not particularly relate to rap or hip-hop. Do not get me wrong, it is by far some of the best music for a club night. Beats in this music are second to none and will, in a heartbeat, get me out on the dance floor, much to the dismay of others who do not want to see an overweight thirty something attempting to twerk... it will happen. Especially nineties R&B, because, well good times. But so much of the songs talk objectively of the opposite sex and yes, I do like a feast of the human body, shape or gender not withstanding in the slightest, but a song relating to the bottom of a woman, or a man going to town on my lady garden, I think I will pass on that score. But some people do enjoy it and really it is all in good fun.

I also think the power behind music is never more powerful than when a song is played at a funeral. When my late grand-father passed away, his song as the curtains were closing was Gary Barlow's 'Let me go'. Now, I struggle to hear the song where I once loved it and that is because it just completely re-intensifies the emotion felt on that day and I do not wish to cry in public—not because I get embarrassed, but it always seems that a person never knows how to react when an individual is crying. Do you pat there shoulder? Hug them? So, yeah. No Gary Barlow for me in public. At home I will blah my eyes out in to my gin glass to my heart's content. But ever the UK heart, in 2014, Monty Python topped the list with the most popular funeral song. Really, Monty Python? The masters of comedy? But with what? 'Always look on the bright side of life,' because 'life's a piece of shit, when you look at it.' I am thirty, so I have naturally been to funerals and most of them have ended with this song. So you would think that listening to this song would have the same effect. Yet, it doesn't. And I think that is because you cannot help but laugh at this song, so when it is played at the funeral you laugh, so you remember the laughing, like a muscle memory. I just love the way the human body works.

But I love way that music can control the human body, it's like this amazing little remote control that can create so much in such a few short minutes and as I said before, that to me is just pure magic!

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Dawn Elizabeth

I am a mum of three and I am working towards a degree in English Language and Literature. I attempted a degree in Nursing but I found I enjoyed the writing more than the nursing side.

I hope you like my writing too x

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.