Beat logo

Emo is Back

"It was never a phase mom!"

By Kimmiekins4Published 3 years ago 3 min read
1

It's finally happened, I have finally reached the age my parents always talked about. The age where suddenly everything from your childhood/teenage years comes back and is the coolest thing ever. It's a werid feeling honestly, looking back thinking man I remember when that came out. If you grew up in the 90s/00s you know exactly what I am talking about. While I am not excited that low rise jeans are making a comeback, I am excited that emo music is coming back. One thing that has changed is these days its cool to be into emo music. When I was young you got made fun of if you were into anything other than what was cool. I guess I was just ahead of my time back in the early 00's.

As I am writing this it's techinally known now as "Throwback Thursday." I thought it would be fun to take a trip down memory lane to look at some of my favorite Emo bands from the early 00s. I wanted to share how I came to find them, as well as some of my favorite songs by them. Back in the day before Spotify, Itunes and whatever other streaming platforms, I found bands through Myspace, the radio, and a website called "PureVolume." Purevolume is not longer around, and honestly neither is Myspace in my opinion. But An did comeout with a website called "Spacehey" and that is equevalent to the early 00s version.

We have to start of course with Hawthorne Heights, whos song inspired the cover picture for this story. I discovered them generically on the radio when "Ohio is for Lovers" played. Still a classic to this very day, but here are some other songs I love by them as well:

1.Saying Sorry

2. I Am On Your Side

3. Pens and Needles

4.Niki FM

5. Screenwriting an Apology

6.This Is Who We Are

7. Dissolve and Decay

Sometimes I remember some of the most random things and one band I remember vividly discoving on Myspace was Fallout Boy and their song "Sugar we're going Down." The details of the begining of Myspace and how it really worked are fuzzy, but what I do remember is seeing the video of this song and then becoming obsessed with Fallout Boy for awhile. Here are some of my favorite songs by them:

1. Sugar, Wer're Going Down

2. Dance, Dance

3. A Little Less Sixteen Candles, A Little More "Touch Me."

4.Thnks for th Mmrs

5. Dead on Arrival

6. Grand Theft Autum/Where you at Boy

7. The Patron of Saint of Liars and Fakes.

My next band is "Boys like Girls" and I actually found them on Purevolume.com. I actually wish that website was still around, or something similar to it. I know there are other ways to discover bands these days, but there was something about finidng a new band on a website that not many people had heard of. It was almost like it was your dirty little seceret (haha get it?). Here are a few songs that I love by them:

1.Hero/Heroine

2.Five Minutes to Midnight

3.The Great Escape

4. Thunder

5.Me You and My Medication

6.Heels over Head

7. Love Drunk

I may have to do muliple parts to this article because there are just so many emo bands that I love. But the last one that I will share here is a band called "Underoath." I actually discovered them thorugh a few former friends of mine, and everytime I listen to certian songs it brings me back to some of the happiest times of my life.

Here are just a few a few songs I love by them:

1. Its Dangerous Businuess WAlking out Your Front Door

2. Down, Set, Glo

3. Young and Aspiring

4. Reinventing Your Exit

5. I'm Content With Losing

6.Some Will Seek Forgiveness, Others Escape

7. A Moment Suspended in Time

8.In Regards to Myself

Like I said I need to make mulitple stories about all of my favorite Emo bands, but here are a few. I also want to share newer emo artist I like. But for now tell me about your favorite emo bands and songs, past or present :) Thanks for reading this, I had so much fun writing this story and taking a step back in my past.

list
1

About the Creator

Kimmiekins4

I am a very creative person. I love reading, writing, listening to music, watching movies and shows. Writing has always been a way for me to express my feelings and thoughts. I'm excited to write some of my stories here on Vocal.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.