Beat logo

ECLECTIC MIX NOVEMBER 21

The tracks filling my head space this month

By Gary PackerPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

This month past it seems like winter has finally arrived on our doorstep, and we were battered here in the UK by our 1st storm of the year, Arwen. The storm left many people without power for over a week, and mainland seen wind speeds of 70-80mph, along with heavy snowfall across the north of Scotland. I know what anyone across the pond reading us will think that the storm probably sounds ‘cute’ but for us over here, it was a big deal! So don’t take that energy, or heating for granted over the next few months, especially as we are to hit again with some more severe weather.

My playlist this month has seen a return to form, with it being long as most other playlists have been this year. Clocking in at 3 hours and 12 minutes, it meanders through Dance, Indie, Alternative, Trip-Hop, 80’s, Classic Rock, Electro, Rap as well as some others which are less genre definable. This list does have a stronger dance vibe running through it, with a much higher tempo, some tracks myself I’ve rediscovered for the 1st time in years, others are completely new. Although my lists are Eclectic by my own admission, they do have certain genre’s running through them stronger in certain times of the year, strangely that’s something that I’ve always found with music, my moods change with the seasons in some ways.

As I seem to say every week, I know these lists can potentially be quite long. I do appreciate i build them up over the course of a month, so they can get quite long. So as always, I have included a YouTube playlist below which helps highlight the tracks, I feel are worth checking out. Also, sometimes because I think the music video is cool, so they get popped into it as well. Who knows maybe I’ll do an article on cool music videos??

FC Kahuna – Hayling

Skunk Anansie – Secretly

Moloko – Fun For Me

Massive Attack – Unfinished Sympathy

Manic Street Preachers – A Design For Life

Tori Amos – Cornflake Girl

Pixies – Monkey Gone To Heaven

Pink Floyd – Time (Live Version)

X-Press 2 – Lazy ft. David Byrne

Bjork – Violently Happy

Harvey Causon – Tenfold

Bonobo – Linked

The Biggles – Video Killed The Radio Star

Lamb – Gorecki

Wayward – Sapphire Eyes

Kanye West – Flashing Lights

Choomba – Say It

Wayward – Ridge Road ( Kareem Ali’s House Mix)

This month’s list features Disciples, The Verve, Skunk Anansie, Manic Street Preachers, Pixies, Moloko, Massive Attack, The Buggles, Tricky, Klangkarussell, Pink Floyd, Lamb, Bjork, Tori Amos, Cornelius, X-Press 2, Underworld, Janet Jackson, Bonobo, Choomba, Kero Kero Bonito, Harvey Causon, Kanye West, 10CC, The Tymes, Fat Freddy’s Drop, FC Kahuna, The Herbaliser, Luscious Jackson, XTC, Layo & Bushwacka!, Jacknife Lee, Matt Berry, and Wayward. As always, this list is for listening to anytime really (well i would say that as it’s my list) but is probably best enjoyed loudly or with a good set of headphones on.

I will be following up this list as well at the end of this month with a special look back at the year. I will be diving into my wrapped 2021 playlist from Spotify and breaking down my most listened to songs this year. As a result, there won’t be an official December playlist, instead what I’ll do is roll any songs I pick up this month, into my January playlist. Hopefully it won’t be too long with 2 months’ worth of music in it haha! So until then be safe, look after each other, and have a great Christmas, hope Santa is good to you all!

If you enjoyed this article, then please feel free to check my profile out, and some of my other articles/stories. I appreciate your support and time !

playlist
1

About the Creator

Gary Packer

Jack of all trades, master of none

https://entertainmentthought.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.