Beat logo

ECLECTIC MIX JUNE 2022

The tracks filling my head space this month

By Gary PackerPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Hello everybody, sorry it’s taken a little longer than usual to bring you last month’s playlist. As they say better late than never! So here is the playlist, a little tour through what’s been giving me vibes, and my ears some loving this month. The summer still hasn’t really arrived yet (although as I write we are due another heat wave), but it’s been fairly dry on the whole here in Scotland, so we count our blessings. Hopefully it’s almost upon us, as we are starting to run out of time to have the summer in, or perhaps we’ll have to all just travel from Scotland to see the sun. As always, the playlists are a little self-portrayal of my mood, and what’s going on with me at the time. This month isn’t any different, some of these song’s the lyrics really leapt out at me, or in some cases the sounds helped me deal with what’s been going on, in others I just liked what I heard and gave me those goosebumps when I heard them. Some were grower’s, the 1st song being one such my brother Kriss recommended to me and took me a while to get into. Others were old songs that I rediscovered or popped into my head and needed a dusting off and replayed. Some I just discovered by accident, by being in restaurant, to checking my discover weekly on Spotify, or because someone told me to check it out. Ultimately there’s a story behind all these tracks, and their reason for being here.

For anyone who isn’t aware of how this works by now or is new to my playlist’s. They are extremely eclectic. One moment you could be grooving to some 70’s soul funk, the next some trance, before some 90’s classic comes through, followed by some alternative music that pulls the rug out from under your feet (or should that be ears?!). For me that’s the fun of music, no matter your genre, something can always come out the blue and grab you. Anyway, I hope you guys enjoy what’s on offer, and here is the playlist for June in all its glory:

As always, I can appreciate some of these playlists can be very long, this one clocks in at 2 hours and 48 minutes. So below I’ve compiled a YouTube compilation of song’s that stand out to me, and that I think you should hear, and aren’t to be missed if you don’t have time to listen to the full playlist. The YouTube list isn’t as long as usual either, as I really have tried to boil it down this time as well.

Llewellyn – These Days

Rubberbandits – Dads Best Friend

Effy – Bodied

Rhode & Brown – Cruise

Pet Shop Boys – Domino Dancing

Brockhampton – BUZZCUT

Depeche Mode – I Feel Loved (Danny Tenaglia’s Labour of Love Edit)

a-ha – The Sun Always Shines on T.V.

Prince – Sign O’ The Times

David Bowie – Don’t look Down

Maurice & Noble – Hoochie Koochi (I’m Ready Mix)

This month’s list features Llewellyn, Bootsy Collins, The Rubberbandits, Effy, Chidlish Gambino, Mouissie, A Vision of Panorama, Elkka, Biesmans, Daniel Avery, Denham Audio, Storken, Parliament, Manuel Darquart, Rhode & Brown, Blancmange, Todd Terje, Pet Shop Boys, BROCKHAMPTON, Depeche Mode, a-ha, Prince, Jan Hammer, David Bowie, The O’Jays, Gorillaz, Maurice & Noble, and Fiction Factory. As previously stated, it’s eclectic as they come! This list is for listening to anytime really (well I would say that as it’s my list) but is probably best enjoyed loudly or with a good set of headphones on. So, until next month, be safe, and take care of one another.

Hope you’ve enjoyed the music, and don’t forget how important music is. Afterall its the soundtrack to your life!!!

If you enjoyed this article, then please feel free to click here and check my profile out, I appreciate your support and time !

playlist
Like

About the Creator

Gary Packer

Jack of all trades, master of none

https://entertainmentthought.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.