Beat logo

Dreams and Hidden Mirrors

Can The Blue Oyster Cult Soundtrack Dreams Fuelled By Bangladeshi Food?

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 3 years ago Updated 11 months ago 3 min read
4

Sometimes what you eat can cause you to dream. Cheese is a good one if you want to dream. Last night I had Aloo Chole, a chickpea and potato curry along with some Sag Aloo from Rajnagar my local Bangladeshi restaurant. I finished about half of it so I will be warming up the remainder tonight for my tea tonight and looking forward to it. I don't think that's the normal food to stimulate dreams although it's very good.

Normally cheese is the food that stimulates dreams, but whatever, and I always enjoy being stimulated into dreamland whenever I can, but I hope the dream is close to my waking time so that I can actually remember it and write it down. Dreams can be amazing, if illogical and mad at times.

Anyway, last night was a night of mental fragmented dreams. To start with there was something to do with the music on Nick Lowe's "Bowi" EP then I was in a high-rise office block in Liverpool (I used to work in JM Centre in the early eighties. Then there was some work going on at the entrance to an underground car park. There were two guys doing it and had a small two-seater smart car.

One of the guys walked into the car park and suddenly a big chunk of the floor sank about a foot. The guy ran into a solid concrete floor, lay down, and faded as if teleported. The other guy's girlfriend turned up and told him to clean the concrete dust from the passenger seat. She went into the underground car park and sank calf deep into another hole.

I'm not sure what happened then, but I was thinking how the hell do you deal with a really big sinkhole? What if one appears in the middle of the street and it's miles deep? You cannot just fill it, can you? I'm sure someone will have an answer.

Well, today it's dark and rainy so my steps are going to take a big hit, but that's fine as I am far ahead of my target so all is fine.

My Current listening is "Curse of The Hidden Mirror" by Blue Oyster Cult. I bought this for completion but it's actually a very good album. Closer to "Imaginos" than "Agents of Fortune" that are further over the top and veering into mystical Lovecraft-type horror, as illustrated by track 3 "Old Gods Return".

"Now is the time the moon is in alignment

With the unknown zodiac, the untold sign

Of the fiery maniac within each breast

Awaits a stirring iridescent whirring

Of a six-eyed god whose wings beat In a time so odd, so very odd

And we're all lost, all of us blessedly lost "

Classic over-the-top BOC lyric fest.

The opener "Dance on Stilts" is a brilliant song (though the title doesn't lead you to expect it) and the coda is just gorgeously excellent. The album is now available digitally but is expensive on CD but is worth getting hold of.

I also love the cover which adds to the surreality of experience listening to this. It’s always good when you see something and think, what the hell is that?''

I've included “Dance On Stilts” to lead this piece and it may tempt you into tracking down a copy of the album which you could find on Amazon or Discogs.

The Blue Oyster Cult’s usual position is over the top but they have always been one of my favorite bands since “On Your Feet, Or On Your Knees”. Check them out, there is far more to them than “Don’t Fear The Reaper” and they can lead you down many dream rabbit holes.

album reviews
4

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran11 months ago

    Lol, that was a bizarre dream!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.