Beat logo

Distrokid Is Awesome

I’ll tell you why!!

By CAL.Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Being an Artist is Hard!! Let me ofcourse start with that.

Me being in the industry and seeing how many artists are working towards their goals, funding their projects, chasing their dreams.

I can’t help to notice the focus is everywhere which is easy to get blinded in this business.

Business being my focal point for this conversation.

I want all artists to understand the fundamentals of viewing their artistry as a business. Yes we want to make music, yes we want to have those fancy equipment to make the best sounding music as possible.

But lets get down to business. If you are an artist you should definitely take notes in three, two, one…

Ok lets begin, you have music, I am a listener, how can you get it to me?

Might seem like an easy answer for some but theres literally thousands of artists that are still on the beginning stage. Passion is building, creativity is urging, pens are being pressed trust me I know.

So I am here to speed you up!!

Theres a company called Distrokid. And this company is not a label, not a A&R or marketing company. They are strictly a distribution company with perks.

The perks i’ll get into later but for the must know.

You can literally sign your self up and immediately start releasing music. No questions asked, no infinite contracts to be signed. Just you and your music. You can even put your own label as the person releasing it.

I’ve been with distrokid for about three years now and I couldn’t have made a better choice.

There is options out there but i personally feel I get more for my money with distrokid. Theres also a huge networking opportunity for artists because you can literally search the #distrokidartist hashtag and find thousands of artists just like myself and you.

Me being all about networking, I always advise artists to use who you think will work best for you. But If i were you I’d focus on who will get my music out the fastest.

If costs is whats holding you back, you won’t have that problem with distrokid since they have a great affordable option.

Ok now for some Perks, Distrokid for every release allows you the opportunity to get added into their playlist as a game opt in feature.

You simply choose your song, spin the wheel and your song will get added. Isn’t that a great way to get started and find placements.

One advice I can tell artists from my experience is release music and alot of it. Being consistent not only will help you get heard but will also give you the chance to make some money.

Distrokid pay out system runs about every three to six months. So the more songs you have out, the more chance you have of making money with your songs.

So lets get into the process of releasing a song with Distrokid.

You will need your song finished in the way you intend for it to be heard.

You will need your cover art for the song.

And credits for who produced the song.

Splits are important so make sure you own the rights to your music and have the names of all the individuals who helped work on the song.

Credit is everything, even if its not for capital gain. Just knowing that your acknowledging someone on the work will make people extremely happy.

You will then select your release date, it’s preferred to set your release atleast 7 days before. This gives curators at spotify enough time to review your song and possibly add you to an editorial playlist.

Also to make sure your music releases on time. Don’t cut it too close or you’ll run into the “Why isn’t my song released at midnight” problem.

I know cause its happened to me before lol

So Distrokid is for the Win with me.

If you have music and would like to get started

Heres my referal link

https://distrokid.com/vip/seven/1871860

I hope this information finds you well! And keep creating! You are talented!

CAL.

product review
Like

About the Creator

CAL.

Rap, Create and Work!

Playlist Curator/Ebook writer/Artist/Video editor

Visit my Website: Calinclined.com

Partner at https://www.hrdrv.com

Instagram:https://www.instagram.com/caljamonit/

Twitter:https://mobile.twitter.com/cal_jamonit

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.