Beat logo

CTA Blues & Hippocampal Moods

When I feel glum, I take a ride on the pink line to my favorite Spotify playlists

By Kyra LopezPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
First Place in Zen Playlist Challenge
32
CTA Blues & Hippocampal Moods
Photo by Engin Yapici on Unsplash

When I need to wander, I choose the comfort of blue velvet seats.

The 18th Street pink line stop is filled with paintings on its steps, and so many sunsets over the city horizon. You can see the lines of aging Chicago homes stretch across the Pilsen neighborhood standing from the elevated train platform. When I put on my headphones here, I know that the area is a sponge for my anxiety.

It takes in all the anguish from my rough days, and wrings it out over the fields near Cermak.

To feed my introvert's appetite, I would routinely board the identical metal cars and hear the train breathe as it left the station. My playlists on Spotify are crafted for these neighborhood walks and train rides, and they have kept me sane throughout college. These moments are the most relished "me time" I can pull from the depths of my anterior cortex.

When I needed to reground myself, I stayed close to Pilsen, Spotify, and train rides.

____________________________________________________

Hence, why I composed my favorite relaxation playlist to share with my Vocal readers 🎶🎶🎶

To check out the full list of songs, here is the link:

____________________________________________________

Songs for Each CTA Train Line:

Each train line has transported me across the streets and skyscrapers of my home. Time on the train has made me reflect on who I was becoming, my actions towards others, and my emotions. In order to find peace, I would routinely listen to some of these artists for my alone time~

Pink: Hearing your voice~ Omar Apollo

Wish you lived a little closer

Clean your house, borrow some clothes and

Maybe talk 'bout California

Heard it's not like Indiana

I got time, what you expected?

Sleepless nights, felt disconnected

  • Omar Apollo is one of my favorite indie artists of all time
  • Delicate lyrics and soft tone he portrays in his vocals.
  • Its music that makes you wonder, puts you at ease, and leaves you reeling at the images he paints.

Red: Tokyo Love Hotel~ Rina Sawayama

You got that something that everyone wants

You got that movie star glow

  • Upbeat, creative, and fantastic lyricism
  • Pop genre, energetic vocals by Rina
  • For looking out the window or feeling overwhelmed on a busy day

Green: Coffee for Dinner~ Orion Sun

Coffee for dinner kept me warm in the cold

But I never was alone, no

  • Riveting, intense emotion
  • Inspirational, an outlet of reflection on trauma and grueling emotion
  • Orion Sun knows how to capitivate an audience, and can tell relatable stories in her music

Blue: Separate~Pvris

Little mirrors at your bedside look just my size

Place them back behind my eyes, give them life

  • Lynn Gunn's powerful voice and gothic themes take me to another world
  • The Alternative music dream
  • For the doom and gloom type of days

Purple: I can't handle change~ Roar

I can't help but repeat myself

I know it's not your fault

Still lately, I begin to shake

For no reason at all

  • The typical shoe gaze seasoning to my music tastes
  • Loneliness jams, a way for me to feel out the embarrassing emotions of my mental health
  • Modern indie feel, slight psych elements that are relaxing

Brown: Mexican Hermosa~Natalie Lafourcade and Los Macorinos

Mexicana hermosa, bandera la latina

No te pongas triste, solo mira el cielo

Si la noche se cubre de estrellas

  • The translation of the lyrics is like a reassurance to not be sad and look at the sky
  • When I have missed my closest family or friends, this song has reminded me of lovely memories
  • It makes me feel a connection to identity and a feeling of protection

Orange: Oscuridad~Jasper Bones

This loneliness consumes me

Takes a bite outta my heart and chews me

Will someone to love ever show?

Or should I just dance in shadows

  • For days when I needed healing and release
  • Jasper Bones delivered for the long rides from the loop to Pulaski
  • A clear cut image of sad boy time, mixed with a little spanglish

Yellow: Lightning~ Orion Sun

Must move along

Lightning striking everywhere now

Running fast, hear the crackin' so loud, oh

It's so loud now, now

  • One of my favorite songs on their album, an essential tune for peaceful walks
  • The movement and struggle conveyed in the lyrics made me feel aligned with my travel around the city
  • Personal and familiar

playlist
32

About the Creator

Kyra Lopez

Writer from the 773

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Kyra Lopez is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.