Beat logo

Country & HipHop

Together at last, At least in my heart.

By Ashleigh HolmesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Country & HipHop
Photo by Wes Hicks on Unsplash

1987 – The year I was born. But maybe not the year I should’ve been – Read Ahead

My teen years ran from 1997 until 2006 but I can tell you now, majority of music I listened to during that time frame was definitely not the era I was born in, but different styles have shaped who I am today.

Growing up, my grandparents were country musicians, even my dad was the drummer and so throughout my childhood, my parents played music from the 60s and 70s which I liked. Artists such as Tammy Wynette, Loretta Lynn and Johnny Cash were always playing on cassette tapes (yes my parents were old school) but also CDs on weekends while cleaning the house or just hanging out.

Part of me thinks I was born too late because I like what is called the Golden Age (60’s, 70’s & 80s) style of music, I just love the beat and how they aren’t complicated and easy to sing along with. I love singing along to ‘D.I.V.O.R.C.E’, ‘Stand By Your Man’, ‘You Ain’t Woman Enough’, ‘Coal Miner’s Daughter’ and ‘Ring of Fire’. Might I add I knew all the words, I know I know, I am a nerd.

Now it wasn’t only country that influenced my teenage years, my older sister (only 3 years older) loved hip-hop and so would often have Eminem, Dr Dre, 50 Cent and Wu-Tang Clan. Such a contrast from the country scene let me tell you. But I enjoyed singing along to ‘Lose Yourself’, ‘Stan’, ‘In da Club’ and ‘My Name Is’ just as much as the country songs. This style also appeals to me as there is stories embedded in the lyrics.

Nowadays, as a mum of a nearly three year old you will more likely catch me singing ‘Wiggles’ tunes or ‘Twinkle Twinkle Little Star’ in the car, especially on family trips. But once I am alone on my way to and from work, Spotify is plugged in and my play list, aptly named ‘Pep Up Songs’ include Taylor Swift, Pussycat Dolls, Sugarbabes and Gwen Stefani. But the country influence also infiltrates in terms of Gretchen Wilson whose catchy red-neck songs caught me by surprise about 5 years ago, so these too have found their way into my playlist and my heart. Just take a listen to ‘Red Neck Woman’ or ‘Here For The Party’ and even ‘When It Rains’ and just try not to sing along to those catchy songs.

Given all the different music styles from my teen years all the way up to my 30s now, god that makes me feel old. It comes down to the way music makes you feel, if you like something less popular but it makes you happy. That is awesome. Trust me if singing the same nursery rhyme ten times in a row on a car trip and your child asking you to sing it in different emotions you will, because it makes them happy. Deep down I love the country style, whether it be houses or music and it will always have a special place in my heart. But I am not biased or one sided as proven by the hip hop influence, and my husband loves jazz and heavy metal.

Listen to what makes you happy, even if it is the old school ‘1985’ song by Bowling for Soup or ‘Teenage Dirtbag’ by Wheatus. Whatever gets you smiling is a good thing and lifts your spirits. Don’t let anyone tell you differently or treat you differently because of your taste in music. Just turn your music up louder to drown them out haha.

humanity
2

About the Creator

Ashleigh Holmes

Married mother of an adorable little girl who keeps me on my toes. I love art, craft, photography and food. I love to write about parenting and the trials I have struggled with, and also photography as an outlet for lifelong anxiety.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.