Beat logo

Concerts I Recommend

Virtual, of course...

By Chloe GilholyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
Concerts I Recommend
Photo by Anthony DELANOIX on Unsplash

I miss the energy, charisma and atmosphere that shines during music concerts. Everybody comes as one as musicians give it their all. The last concert I went to was in 2019 at the O2 arena in London to see Björk. What made that concert extra special was that I went to Iceland earlier that year and bought some of her albums at. Record store in Reykjavik which included her work with the band The Sugar Cubes. A great concert makes me feel like the world has come as one during a world of darkness and decay. It’s one of the things I miss about the pre-covid world. I was skepitcal that watching them online would not have the same effects, but I was wrong in some cases. I was happy to hop on a time machine through YouTube and watch the concerts. Here are 5 that I really enjoyed.

I’ve been to many gigs and concert before the lockdown, and I think the best ones will make you think that you’re being whisked into a movie.

1. David Bowie - Live in Berlin in 2002

This concert is beautiful. David Bowie has truly poured his heart and soul in everything he does which has resulted in over 20 iconic studio albums and beautiful concerts like this one. There’s so many to choose from when it comes to David Bowie. Even though he is died, his music lives on and will continue to live on for many centuries to come. Watching this performance has kept me hooked all the way through. David Bowie radiates a friendly aura.

There’s a plethora of David Bowie live albums availible on Amazon and concerts uploaded on YouTube, so you’re spoiled for choice here.

2. Nightwish - End Of An Era

This is one of my favourite concerts that I never went to. There’s a really big backstory to this which helps make this concert more poignant. There’s enough drama behind this concert for a Netflix show. Nightwish have done a lot of the music industry, especially the metal scene. Without them, I don’t think we wouldn’t have seen bands like Sirenia and Epica. Back then, having a woman front a rock/metal band as big as Nightwish was rare. People started using the female-fronted metal band as a genre and as another word for gothic/symphonic metal bands.

This concert was the last concert of a world tour promoting their album, Once. I’m pretty sure this was a sell-out concert as well. The thing about Nightwish that this concert shows, that it’s not just the lead singer that’s famous. They’re all pretty famous in their own right. Jukka gives it his all on the drums. Tuomas always looks like he’s making love to the keyboard. Emppu is great on the guitar. Marko’s fantastic bassist an singer. As for Tarja, she’s in a real league of her own.

One of their best shows they ever did. What makes it kinda sad at the same time it was the last one Tarja did Nightwish. It was also the way she was fired which was sad. Tarja is married to Marcelo Cabuli, who was also her manager. It’s very clear that Marcelo and the guys in the band didn’t get on. Then there’s the big big tour so there’s tension. The night after this concert, the guys fired Tarja through a letter, and then they published the letter online.

Drama aside, this is a great concert with great musicianship. Nightwish are still going strong. It’s only Tuomas and Emmpu left from this line-up because Tarja got fired, and Jukka and Marko left for health reasons.

You can get this on DVD via Amazon.

3. Beyoncé- HOMECOMING

I always thought Beyoncé was an interesting person, and I love her voice and music with Destiny’s Child and a lot of her work as a solo artist. On my Beyoncé Album Ranking article, I listed this one as number one. The music is great and I love the storytelling inbetween the song. It feels like a teaching of love and truth. Beyoncé comes across as both regal and humble in this film.

Available to stream on Netflix

4. Queen - Live at Hammer Smith

Like David Bowie, Queen also has a wide option of epic old concerts to watch and stream. I’ve opted for their show 1975 show in Hammersmith in London because of this wonderful medley that merges three of my famous songs from the band; their magnum opus, Bohemian Rhapsody; the sophisticated Killer Queen; and my favourite track, March of the Black Queen. The whole concert is great.

Available on Amazon.

5. Babymetal - Live at Wembley 2016

I actually went to this concert and still have the poster in my room. It made history as they were the first Japanese act to headline the famous SSE Arena in Wembley. It was one of the best shows I’ve ever been to and I have lots of good memories linked to this concert. I love their fusion of bubblegum pop and heavy metal. I think their rock-based songs are epic and their poppier songs are adorable. I also love how they incorporate other genes of music into their songs too. They’re like the golden trio, sadly Yuimetal left for health reasons, but Babymetal are still a band I would like to see again. I miss the dynamic between Maometal and Yuimetal and how they’re the perfect sidekicks for Sumetal.

I’m gobsmacked at how that the DVD is being sold for on Amazon.

concert
2

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.