Beat logo

Concerts are Good for Our Health

Let the music bring us together once back to our new normal

By Jordan MendiolaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by Vonecia Carswell on Unsplash

Feeling like an outcast is one of the toughest feelings known to exist. Nobody really accepts you for who you are and find it hard to relate. These are tough times.

These are times that I went through growing up.

Just because I was someone who was active in clubs throughout school and started on the football and baseball teams did not make me a happy person. I felt like a person putting on a fake smile just to make it one more day.

The smiles in the hallways felt like fake acknowledgements that I meant something to the other person. A lot of the emotions I felt had to do with insecurity and a lack of identity. But something needed to change.

Fast forward to my graduation. The first thing I do that same summer is go to a Marshmello EDM show. Strangely, the only concert I had attended was an old band called U2 which was great, but a little out of date for me.

For the Marshmello show, I had no idea what to expect. It was like going to that house in your neighborhood that always had parties and you were finally invited.

What thought was going to be scary and excluding was simply not the case.

Everyone is so friendly!

You can ask most people who have been to a rave and they can tell you how friendly the EDM crowd is. Many individuals believe in P.L.U.R. aka: peace, love, unity, and respect.

I found out people were so friendly when I got sucked into my first mosh pit. This is when everyone is jumping in a circle after a filthy beat drop, pushing one another around while laughing and pushing off.

So I jump in like the happy-go-lucky individual I am and expect nothing but good laughs. One guy twice my side pushes me so hard I fall on my back in shock. I thought we were about to fight. The guy helps pick me up and everyone ceases to mosh until I am back on my feet ready to go back at it. There is hope for humanity.

Accepting community

My non-EDM self walked into the festival completely blind and curious to understand the hype. Everybody nearby gave me warm smiles that allowed me to lower my guard and be open.

At any given rave, you can see people dressed up from head to toe with any accessories you can think of. Freedom of expression is in full effect at raves. Oftentimes I am inspired by the creativity people bring with them.

The funniest props I saw were two life sized Juul vapes and a victory royale flag from Fortnite.

People of all colors, creeds, sexual orientations, and so much more are welcome to the EDM/Rave community free of judgement.

The messages from the music are positive

  • “Let’s make this fleeting moment last forever” — Krewella
  • “These are the nights that never die” — Avicii

Oftentimes, the music runs along the theme of having a magical night, trust between two individuals, and love.

There are tons of places to find friendly people such as churches, a candlelit yoga on Sunday night, or a farmer’s market.

In my lifetime, however, raves are the friendliest places on Earth. No matter which country the rave takes place, you are guaranteed to have a great time.

Unlike the outcast I used to feel like, raves allowed me to re enter into society as someone accepted into a particular niche. I feel blessed to have found a community I can call “home”.

I love helping people be happy. Friendly people are all over the place. I want to support individuals to join a community they believe in and allow the group to make an imprint on them for a week.

Feeling the bass in my chest reminds me that I’m alive.

One week could be all it takes to jumpstart your dying battery in life!

concert
Like

About the Creator

Jordan Mendiola

Jordan Mendiola is a horizontal construction engineer in the U.S. Army, Mendiola loves hands-on projects and writing inspirational blog posts about health, fitness, life, and investing.

linktr.ee/Jordanmendiola

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.