Beat logo

Classic Christmas Playlist

My Top 10- Christmas Song Favorites

By DaphsamPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - December 2023
24
Classic Christmas Playlist
Photo by little plant on Unsplash

There's one aspect of Christmas that I absolutely love, and that is listening to Christmas music. Nothing is more than having upbeat, happy tunes that celebrate snow, Christmas, hot chocolate, walking in the streets, and looking through the shop windows and Noel.

Many songs are on my Christmas playlists, but I have a few favorites: a mix of classical and classic pop.

With Christmas less than a week away, if you want to add something to your Christmas playlist, here are my top ten.

1. An ionic jazz singer and music writer, Nat King Cole can sing you into a Christmas spirit. With his richly beautiful baritone sound, there is nothing like listening to Nat King Cole singing, "Oh Holy Night."

2. "Snow" from the classic movie "White Christmas" with Bing Crosby, Peggy Lee, Danny Kay, and Rosemary Clooney. This song is just amazing. For someone who doesn't see snow much, especially around Christmas (thanks global warming), I love to hear this song during Christmas. The words embody everything I would do if I had a snowy Christmas.

3. "White Christmas" with Bing Crosby is just a feel-good song. The majestic sounds of the orchestra playing in the background serenade a White Christmas is a must for a Christmas playlist. It takes me back to a time when life was simple.

4. "Do You Hear What I Hear" with Andy Williams. This song has just the right amount of dynamic beats. This song just makes you want to join in as a backup singer.

5. "Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas" with Judy Garland. What could I say? It's Judy Garland. Listening to her voice singing this classic reflective piece is like having a warm Christmas blanket embracing me as I listen to her timeless voice. It's just so sincere. The song is poignant. It talks about having problems facing them, and then next year you'll have a better Christmas. Anyone can relate to this song year after year.

6. "Three Pieces From The Snowman Walking On Air" by George Winston This piece of piano is a mix of mystical poignancy with uplifting beats. It's beautiful background music to have on as you wrap Christmas gifts or do a few house chores; it's one of those songs that you could stop for a second to listen to and start reflecting on the year you've had or what you're going through.

7. "The Christmas Waltz" by Frank Sinatra. Oh, Frank, what can I say. To listen to Frank's velvety voice belts out an exceptionally magical Christmas song. This song encapsulates the joy and romance of Christmas. One of my favorite lines is in the beginning, frosted window panes with candles gleaming inside. Absolutely beautiful.

8. "Skating from Vince Guaraldi Trio: Charlie Brown Christmas" A timeless classic piano piece that flashes me back to Charlie Brown and his gang ice skating. Another one of those reflective pieces that you can listen to and just start reminiscing about wonderful family memories around the holidays.

9. "Christmas Canon by Tran-Siberian Orchestra" is a masterpiece of theatrical brilliance; this rock-pop orchestra puts a spin on the Christmas cannon from Johann Pachelbels Canon in D major. It's festive, it's captivating. If you enjoy listening to moving music, this is the one for you. It will really get you into the spirit.

10. "Here We Come A Caroling. We Wish You A Merry Christmas" by Perry Como's medley is the perfect recipe for the whimsical happy Merry Christmas song. All you will want to do is join in with Perry Cuomo and belt it out with him.

I hope you enjoyed my Christmas song playlist, I hope there's something that really lands for you enjoy the holidays everyone.

song reviewsplaylistclassical
24

About the Creator

Daphsam

Loving Wife, Mom, Dog Mom- A Dyslexic dreamer who never thought I could read or write. But life changed, and I conquered my fears. I am an artist, photographer, wordsmith and illustrator. Looking to weave stories and poems with my artwork.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • Test4 months ago

    I couldn't stop reading. Your writing was really well done!

  • K. Kocheryan4 months ago

    Thank you for this! I love me some trans-Siberian orchestra. Happy Holidays!

  • Some wonderful tunes here!!! Can you believe that I absolutely do not care for Bing Crosby or Andy Williams. Although I love Nat King Cole. He had such a beautifully rich and smooth voice. The Trans-Siberian Orchestra is always a favorite of mine. Louis Armstrong now he has a few Christmas classics that I love. I just love his gravelly voice and his trumpet. I tend to like the more contemporary Christmas songs such as Paul McCartney's Wonderful Christmas time and Elton John's Step into Christmas.

  • Handyman Henry4 months ago

    Wonderful collection of songs. It wouldn’t be Christmas without Bing!

  • k eleanor4 months ago

    Oh, I love Christmas!!! My favourite on the list is 'Do You Hear What I Hear' Thank you for sharing the playlist! Merry Christmas❤

  • Phil Flannery4 months ago

    I believe you have what is known as an old soul. I grew up listening to Nat King Cole, Bing Crosby (Dad's favourite). The jazzy number from Charlie Brown, of course. Your lovely choices have warmed this cynical grinchy heart. Merry Christmas

  • Scott Christenson4 months ago

    Nice list with a lot of classics we don't hear as much today. "Do you hear what I hear.." is a good one to remember!

  • Lamar Wiggins4 months ago

    Great choices!!! I think my favorites on your list are 4 and 5. They both have the ability to make me want to turn up the volume a few notches. Thank you for sharing!

  • 11. “Another Christmas Song” by Stephen and the Colberts

  • Jasmine Aguilar4 months ago

    I especially love O' Holy Night and Christmas Canon. Both powerful songs!

  • Xine Segalas4 months ago

    Fabulous playlist! I love all of these!

  • Kristen Balyeat4 months ago

    Fantastic playlist! Thanks for sharing! Love the ones from White Christmas! One of my fave holiday films! Merry Christmas! 🎄💫

  • Such a festive playlist! Merry Christmas!

  • Andrea Corwin 4 months ago

    Nice, thanks for sharing! Love the movie with Bing too.

  • Mark Graham4 months ago

    Love all of these songs. My favorite was Snow and White Christmas.

  • Leslie Writes4 months ago

    Great selections. 🎄

  • While not to my taste (how boring would it be if we liked the same thing but a well put together and consistent playlist

  • such a melancholy list...

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.