Beat logo

Channing Channels

How the lockdown helped to re-find myself through the love i forgot...music

By Spencer TomimatsuPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
My first beatstrumental LP (circa 2011)

I love music! I love creating beats and music. It is something that I did day in and day out. And it's not for the money or to please anyone; It's my creative space to explore my creativity. My 'me' time. I'm an old school hip hop head so... alotta my beats are chopped up samples and loops, ala Pete Rock, Madlib or Dilla. When i do original compositions, it a bit more electronic with a touch of hip hop. Dabrye and early FlyLo is what i aim for, but it my own thing. (Link below if you wanna know more about Dabrye)

And if i didn't feel like creating, i smoke a bowl and dig on bandcamp or soundcloud for random artists and vibe out. Or just listen to anything from the Pixies to Portishead to Yassin Bey. This either increases my overall energy or help to instantly feel better if i'm down.

But then things get in the way. Life happens. You end up in relationships that slowly kills your spirit. You get stuck at the job that claims all of energy. You slowly forget yourself.

Then you do the worst thing you can do...settle.

So the past five and a half years that's what i did. I just settled in and figured this is my life. A lost soul with no ambition. On occasion, i would dabble but not with the same love and fire like before. It was more forced. Even when i would listen to music, it never was that same feeling that drove me to happiness. I no longer loved music. And while there were moments, I basically put that into a shoebox and let it sit under the bed collecting dust. Instead of creating, I sat at the bar many a night wondering where it all went wrong.

Then COVID happened...

Even though I am an 'essential worker' (Safeway), everything else has been closed. Including bars. I got in touch with an old friend who encouraged me to begin taking care of the most important thing...that love for yourself.

With the quarantine in full swing, it gave time to look into myself and reevaluate my life. I fully put my inner self on the back burner for too too long. It was time to change the channel. Hence the title of the album...Channing Channels

Channing Channels - Refocusing my energy on re-committing myself to my self worth, my self growth and putting in the work of instilling a positive mindset, i find that my self love and happiness is on the uptake! And got back in touch with the one thing i love... Music and the creation of it! God I can't believe how much i missed her!

It's been a long 6 yrs since I released something. This is by far the best LP i've done. Not because of content or quality, but because of the joy and happiness behind it! Every song was a joy to make. From the frustrating parts of getting the right snare and kick to the ever tedious ending of mixing. I loved it all. My mixing is not the best but i also do it on purpose. I want it to feel that your listening to an overdubbed cassette tape.

I promised her that i will continue to the journey and have something to release every month!

I found that my love again! And im glad that she still loves me :)

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Spencer Tomimatsu

Part time beat maker, improv actor, beginning VO actor. Looking to bring my bedroom writing to the masses. Looking for gratitude in everything.

IG: @thadizzie1

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.