Beat logo

CD vs The Digital Age

Commentary & Top 25 Albums

By AngelaPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by: kevin laminto on Unsplash

Ever wondered where that favourite CD of yours disappeared too? Surely it’s not just me, that misses the era of buying a shiny, compact disc in which I could see my reflection at the back? I remember the first CD I ever bought. It was Destiny’s Child self- titled debut. It went straight into my yellow Alba all in one, CD player. There was a 2 tape-deck, with a CD insert that sat right at the top. I loved it.

While I embrace the digital age we're in, the near-death (or actual death) of the CD, has left some of my once collectable compact discs with few cases in-tact, and select album covers missing as well as Mariah’s sleeve notes!

As someone who likes to travel, it makes no sense carrying my CD's around. Still, I miss the experience of anticipating when I'll buy an album as the digital world we're in, has made the CD slowly fade away. When I’m on the go, there's no other way to listen to music other than digitally. With technology evolving, the way we listen to music has drastically changed, with thousands streaming online as well as millions of digital downloads. It's easily accessible, as you don't need to leave your house to buy a new album or get hold of your favourite song. As a result, there's less motivation to buy a CD. However, nothing compares to that quality sound.

By Yanko Peyankov on Unsplash

I remember spending hours in HMV, trying to find the right album to add to my collection. CD’S give you that collectable items feel, but with downloading being so mainstream, the last physical album I bought was Good Kid, M.A.A.D City. The excitement around the album, and being a tourist in Chicago to finally getting my hands on the CD, was an experience altogether. From unpackaging the album to flicking through the pages of the booklet, to analysing the pictures ready to play the album once I got home, is something I'll never forget.

A sample of my collection

The concept of buying a CD in droves may be somewhat “gone” but not forgotten. To pay tribute, here’s my top 25 albums in no particular order.

Michael Jackson – Thriller

Destiny’s Child –Destiny’s Child

Amy Winehouse – Frank

Usher – My Way

Beyoncé – Crazy in Love

Shola Ama Much Love

Lauryn Hill – The Miseducation Of Lauryn Hill

Oasis – What’s the Story Morning Glory? (You know who you are).

Aaliyah – One in a Million

Aaliyah – AALIYAH. Rest in Peace

Sting – Ten Summoner’s Tales

Kelis – Kaleidoscope

Mariah Carey – The Emancipation of Mimi

Notorious BIG – Ready to die

BIG –Life After death.

2Pac – All Eyez on Me. (Would I be cheating if I say pretty much anything he released? RIP 2Pac).

Kendrick Lamar – Good Kid, M.A.A.D City.

Nas – Illmatic

So Solid Crew –They Don’t Know

Lil Wayne – The Carter 2

Aaliyah – Age Ain’t Nothing but a Number

Usher – Confessions

Jodeci – Forever My Lady

J. Cole – 2014 Forest Hills Drive

A Tribe Called Quest – The Anthology!

Honourable Mentions:

(Artist or Albums’ respectively).

Brandy. 'Vocal bible' herself.

Mary J Blige – Share My World

Usher – 8701

Michael Jackson – Invincible

Jodeci – Anything from 93-95.

Jon B – Cool Relax

Kirk Franklin – The Rebirth

Destiny’s Child: The Writing’s On the Wall

2 Face- Face 2 Face

D’Angelo – Brown Sugar. (I'll try and forgive myself).

With most of these albums in my collection too, the Top 25 was no walk in the park!

(Rest In Peace to the Greats that paved the way; Michael Jackson, Aaliyah, Amy Winehouse, Notorious BIG, & 2Pac).

Are CD’s a thing of the past what with the Digital era being here to stay? Or are they seen as a prized possession?

What albums would you include in your all time favourites?

playlist
Like

About the Creator

Angela

Passionate about the written word, and sharing my love for the Arts, Travel and Popular Culture.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.