Beat logo

Bye Bye Valentine

An Anti-Valentine's Day Playlist

By Cody DunningtonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
4
Bye Bye Valentine
Photo by Nick Herasimenka on Unsplash

It's easy to get caught up in the whirlwind romances that Valentine's Day (And the Hallmark Channel) want you to be ensnared in. It's also just as easy to be beyond that and frankly just despise the holiday. This is especially true if you're single. It's incredibly easy to watch all the happy couples going about doing their couple-y things and get jealous and angry. I have a bit of advice, though. Don't do that.

Now many people will have their mushy love song playlists around Valentine's Day, but I say that there is another way. The Anti-Valentine's Day way. Of course, to make that happen, I had to sit and think. What exactly does Anti-Valentine's mean to me? While, sure, it could instantly mean anti-love, I have to say that I don't like that. Who cares if you're not in love with someone? Love is pretty much everywhere in a lot of different forms.

Let's boil down to what is Valentine's Day then? It's a day of gift giving to your significant other. It's a day of going on cute little dates to cafes with your significant other. It's all about you and your significant other. So what, then should be on the Anti-Valentine's Day playlist? Of course, there will be a little bit of anti-love, it's unavoidable. The day focuses way too much on love after all. What I think it will really have though is those songs about loving yourself. Why need someone else when you've got yourself? There will also be some songs about how tired I am of the whole thing.

So, without further ado, my Anti-Valentine's Day Playlist

  1. Feeling Myself - Adam Turley
  2. hot girl bummer - blackbear
  3. Love Drunk - Boys Like Girls
  4. Haircut - Chaz Cardigan
  5. Crush Culture - Conan Gray
  6. Really Don't Care (feat. Cher Lloyd) - Demi Lovato
  7. It Gets Better - Fun.
  8. not ur friend - Jeremy Zucker
  9. i'm so tired... - Lauv & Troye Sivan
  10. How to Be a Heartbreaker - Marina and The Diamonds
  11. AhHa - Nate Ruess
  12. Gold - Owl City
  13. As Long As I Break Your Heart - Ruben
  14. I.D.C.B.U - SIBA

Alright, so admittedly there's a lot more that is anti-love on there than originally intended. Turns out I don't have that many build yourself up songs in my own music library. It also turns out that I don't have a ton of Anti-Valentine's Day songs either. What I do have is a lot of songs that would be exceptionally good for Valentine's Day. What does that say about me? I know what it says, that I'm a hopeless romantic at heart. God help the world if and when I start dating. I will be obnoxious. I'll have an excuse to pull out every mushy song I've amassed over the years.

That being said, all of these have a little bit of a twist on Valentine's Day. I hope you enjoy if you listen to any of them. They're in no particular order, though if I had to pick a favorite, it would be Haircut by Chaz Cardigan. I really enjoy all of his music, but that one is all about breaking bad habits and changing to better oneself. It fits what I was going for a lot.

Anyway, happy Valentine's Day to those of you with significant others, happy Valentine's Day to those of you without, and Happy Valentine's Day to anyone in between! Now I'm going to go listen to some of these songs to feel better about being alone on "the most romantic day of the year." I'll probably eat some chocolate, too. Just because I don't have a date-mate doesn't mean I can't buy myself chocolate. Happy Valentine's Day again, and happy listening.

playlist
4

About the Creator

Cody Dunnington

Just a 20 something year old with big dreams and access to word processing software.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.