Beat logo

Brian Wilson's new album

His famous hits reimagined for solo piano

By Giovanni ProfetaPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

At almost 90, Brian Wilson takes the time to reflect on his work and grand us the opportunity to hear his most beloved tunes the way he hears them. This new record is a full instrumental recollection of Beach boys tunes with a lot of soul as the main ingredient.

I got to say that I feel privileged to be able to hear all those tune with this fresh twist. Sure, this is not music from my era, this is not even music from my parent’s era, they were little kids when Brian and his brothers were breaking boundaries, creating the soundtrack of many who happened to be alive during those days.

I’m a music lover, I was a pre-teen when I started to buy records and explore the wonders of music listening. To me, a musician brings joy, what a wonderful opportunity to leave your mark in this world just by enjoying what you do, your passion.

I own a bunch of Beach Boys records, not too many but I am not a stranger to their musical legacy. As a musician myself, it’s hard not to get overwhelmed by the quality of their music. It may sound simple and mundane, but nothing could be farther from the truth. The Beach Boy’s music is so rich, so complex, and yet so accessible to the hear that is almost magical in a sense.

This new Brian Wilson opens with “God Only Knows.” What can I write that could make justice to this wonderful tune? Believe me, not much, you got to hear it to believe it. It’s so delicate, so pure, outstanding version indeed. I got days with this idea of posting an article on how it was recorded and most important, how it was conceived. To say that the story behind the tune is breathtaking is an understatement. I can only imagine how important this tune from Brian is, one of his finest works for sure.

In my room” is the next track, the arpeggios that accompanied the exquisite melody on the right hand flows so seamlessly, this is not easy listening music, not at all. The arrangement is so vivid and compelling that you will stop what you’re doing and simply let Brian’s interpretation take you places.

Don’t worry baby” is another one of those song carved in my memory from exposure. How many times this tune is accompanied by images in any kind of media you consume? Again, his delicate interpretation brings new life to this haunting tune. A joy to listen to.

California girls” Another tour the force when you say Beach Boys, arrangement so simple and so effective that I was baffled to hear it in this stripped version. The harmonies are so well represented by the right hand that it was impossible for me not to smile.

The warmth of the sun” Here you got another song that takes new life with this solo interpretation, do I like it more than the original? It would be unfair to compare; it shines on its own.

Wouldn’t it be nice” I’m currently working on playing this tune on piano as a surprise gift to my girlfriend, (well, more like a small token of affection, she simply loves this tune). I’m thinking on playing it with my piano as another instrument in the mix with the original track playing behind me. To play this as a solo arrangement crossed my mind. After hearing Brian’s simple but lovely arrangement, I prefer not to, how can I compete with his interpretation? What a way to create harmony Brian has.

I always say that I dislike to do a track by track review of an album. Who am I to criticize such work? I wouldn’t dare, his work is pure art, and as such it must remain. The rest of the song are as magnificent as the ones listed above. If you love music, this album is a must in your collection, give it a try, you won’t regret it. Take your shoes off and sit right there beside Brian, can you feel the sand on your toes?

Brian's piano on his famous sandbox

album reviews
Like

About the Creator

Giovanni Profeta

Swimming through life one stroke at a time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.