Beat logo

Bounce, Bounce, Bounce ..

My Recipe for the Perfect Run

By Ewa RitchiePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Bounce, Bounce, Bounce ..
Photo by Rusty Watson on Unsplash

There is no option for closing my eyes. If I did, I would possibly be knocked out by a tree or even a car. My daily escape involves my sneakers, , my playlist and the asphalt under my feet. I run.

Preparation, of the distance I will be trying to complete; as I loop the ends of the shoelaces around my fingers. Trying to recreate the age old rabbit-running-through-a-tunnel trick to get the loops perfectly right. Ensuring that they will not loosen and cause me to plummet, probably head first, into the slow moving roads. Bounce, bounce, bounce ..

Part of my mediation starts with the rhythm of the run. Long or short, wet or windy, each brings its own mood and bounce. If you can picture the bounce, it always makes the journey very clear. Bounce, bounce, bounce ..

The next is the playlist in my ear. Whether its the beat I follow or the lyrics I start singing, the music is sometimes more important then the act of running. But it must have a beat, electronic or vocal. As some say, it sets the stage on how the run will go. The best start is with a great song, like “Mr. Bojangles” (Nina Simone) or “Formidable” (Stromae). The front door is closed, the ear pods are secured in my ears and the black cap is delicately applied onto my head. Bounce, bounce, bounce ..

You hear that velvety voice, the voice that will push you to get moving; to get the rhythm started. The voice that focuses the mind; turns into a bit of white noise. It melds together with the sound of your breath and the pounding of your feet; a recipe of escape. Like a chef, or a yoga master, these bits, when they come together, create a perfect state of bounce. Bounce, bounce, bounce ..

Once the trigger steps get moving, the playlist is programmed to move. Move faster, move straighter, move with a mission. Sometimes the faster part does not happen but the moving continues. We are now focused on things like “Leftover Love” (Lucas Estrada), “The Original” (Dualities) and “Save your Tears” (The Weekend). The voice is no longer important, the motivation needs to continue through the recipe. This needs to continue the perfect state of bounce. Bounce, bounce, bounce ..

So what if you no longer hear the voice but feel the voice. The background vocals, the base, the tempo; all melts into a feeling. You’re in a state of running that feels like a session of meditation; creating a getaway from everything and everyone. You feel lighter, the sweat that lodges in your pores creates an aura around you that shields you from all that is around. All you have is what is locked in this run. Then the song changes, you hear a phrase or a word that refocuses the song you are listening to and the recipe brings you back to the bounce. “Oops, I did it again” or “Cooler than me”; a phrase that you cannot help but mouth the words; a key to free floating through your run. Just make sure you do not trip on a stone or slip on a candy wrapper. Bounce, bounce, bounce ..

Your feet move, your heart continues to beat and you end up where you started. You remember nothing but feel the end; there is your front door again. But where are you? You are still in that run, you are still in that feeling. Your body has slowly returned but your mind is a little behind. Just give it a moment and give it a deep breath. Like when you wake from a long slumber, it takes the tingle in your fingers and the tickle at the tip of your noise to get you there. Bounce, bounce, bounce ..

playlist
1

About the Creator

Ewa Ritchie

A Canadian in Scotland with stories to tell ..

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.