Beat logo

Between The Lines - Pt. 2

Lyrics Behind "Can You Feel It?" by Chaos Chaos

By Mel E. FurnishPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

I first heard this song while watching, Rick and Morty. After hearing it in a powerful and emotional scene, I had to look it up. The lyrics abruptly had me overrun with feelings and ruptured with memories.

Lay it, lay it down, let me see your hand

Show me what you got

You're always talking, but you're not playing

It doesn't match your face

Bring it on? What do you bring to this? Personally, I believe this is suggesting that her lover or herself isn't the type to usually fall in love, let alone have feelings.

Gotta find my way, away from this place

Can you take me now

I-I want it, I want it real

Are you afraid of me now?

Are you afraid of me now?

The fear of falling, the fears of having something real and the bittersweet reality of relationships. The beauty and harmony of connection, but the pain and corruption of the heart and head can tear it all down in seconds.

Do you feel it, do you feel it?

Do you feel that I can see your soul?

Do you feel it, do you feel it?

Do you feel the beat in your heart?

I-I want it, I want it real

Run away with me now

I-I want it, I want it real

Run away with me now

Some days I'm built of metal, I can't be broken

But not when I'm with you

You love me real, we have it all

Can't leave me now

I love the way you are today

Run away with me now

Wind in my hair 'cause I don't care

Baby, run away with me now

Run away with me now

Do you feel it, do you feel it?

Do you feel that I can see your soul?

Do you feel it, do you feel it?

Do you feel the beat in your heart?

I-I want it, I want it real

Run away with me now

I-I want it, I want it real

Run away with me now

[Bridge]

Oh, oh, oh-oh

Oh, oh, oh-oh

[Verse 3]

Drinking in the summer, I'm good at running

I beat you in the race again

Are you afraid when I look your way?

It's easiest to stay at home

But then we taste it, we got to have it

We have no control

Where is the love, the kind we dream of?

The kind that makes us young

The kind that makes us young

The bittersweet taste of relationships. They are not always sweet, just as they shouldn't always be bitter.

[Outro]

Don't leave me

Never leave me out

Don't leave me

Never leave me out

Don't leave me

Never leave me out

Don't leave me

Never leave me out

Don't leave me

Never leave me out

Don't leave me

Never leave me out

The track is about someone who is isolated from others by the distrust they hold for everyone around them but simultaneously torn by the duality of the need for connections with others. The conflict results in trying to abandon all others with the individual immediately nearest the protagonist. It could be another person but it could also be a metaphorical person that is actually the protagonist’s image of herself/himself.

Torn between the distrust of what he or she existentially wants they can nearly be destroyed by the desire to find ones’s sense of purpose and value and instead run away to pursue personal pleasure and distraction. If it's another person then he/she just wants to run away with this person and pretend that it will be okay and that their love/trust will be enough if the other stays. It seems the protagonist doesn’t have faith in the good times lasting long, as if no one can stay with him/her forever.

song reviews
Like

About the Creator

Mel E. Furnish

I'm a self-published author, raised on a family farm in Indiana.

Facebook ~ Instagram ~ Medium ~ Shop ~ YouTube

~ Book Series (TCoE) Fandom/Wiki

~ https://vocal.media/humans/my-portfolio

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.