Beat logo

Better Off Alone

An Unapologetic Anti-Valentine's Day Playlist

By Crysta CoburnPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
6
Image by Denise Husted from Pixabay

I have been single on Valentine's Day more often than not in my life. Personally, this never bothered me because most of my friends were also single, and we usually spent the night together going out or hanging out in with candy and a movie.

But I've also had friends who were really bothered by the romantic relationship-oriented celebration, especially as we aged and more and more of us coupled off, leaving the rest still single. (I am married now myself.)

For this Valentine's Day, I wanted to help people celebrate being single and not feel so annoyed or bitter. Listen to some tunes! Have some fun! Find below 28 songs that remind you that sometimes you are better off alone, and there is nothing wrong with that. You can be strong and independent.

Even if you do have a valentine this year (like I do), be careful about becoming too wrapped up in the relationship. Continue to be your own self. As the great poet Khalil Gibran said in "On Marriage"...

And stand together, yet not too near together: For the pillars of the temple stand apart, and / The oak tree and the cypress grow not in each other’s shadow.

Now let's groove.

By Austin Schmid on Unsplash

The Taste of Freedom

Have you ever felt stifled by being in a relationship? I sure know I have! Whether you are trying to break free, or you prefer to keep things casual, here are some songs just for you.

  1. I Wanna Be Free (The Monkees)
  2. I Want to Break Free (Queen)
  3. I’m Like A Bird (Nelly Furtado)
  4. Distraction (Kehlani)
  5. So Many Men – So Little Time (Miquel Brown)
  6. Ex's & Oh's (Elle King)
  7. If I Tell You I Love You (Melody Gardot)

It is Over

Sometimes it is a real relief when a relationship is over. Don't look back! Now it is time to celebrate you. Get your dance on.

  1. Heard It All Before (Dinah Jane)
  2. We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together (Taylor Swift)
  3. Sunday Morning (No Doubt)
  4. Stronger (Britney Spears)
  5. Since U Been Gone (Kelly Clarkson)
  6. Roar (Katy Perry)
  7. Really Don't Care (Demi Lovato)

Not Interested

Seriously. You are just not interested, friend. Do not let obnoxious people bring you down. You are here for you, and you know what you want. So go out and get it.

  1. No Scrubs (TLC)
  2. Ten New Friends (Victoria Monét)
  3. Love Myself (Hailee Steinfeld)
  4. U + Ur Hand (P!nk)
  5. Single Ladies (Put a Ring on It) (Beyoncé)
  6. What the Hell (Avril Lavigne)
  7. That’s My Girl (Fifth Harmony)

Independent, Single, and Proud

You are on your own, and you are loving every minute of it. You are taking care of yourself, and the single life rocks. Go you!

  1. 7 Rings (Ariana Grande)
  2. Independent Woman (Destiny's Child)
  3. Single (Natasha Bedingfield)
  4. I Don’t Need a Man (The Pussycat Dolls)
  5. Feeling Myself (Nicki Minaj featuring Beyoncé)
  6. Ridin’ Solo (Jason Derulo)
  7. One Man Guy (Loudon Wainwright III)
By freestocks on Unsplash

I hope you enjoyed this modest playlist. If so, I have several more if you want to click on my name. Give this a like if you feel so inclined. If it wasn't for you, there are so many more songs out there to move to. (Believe me, I checked. They just didn't make the list.)

And remember above all, you are beautiful. Do not let being single get you down. There are so many wonderful things in the world to take joy in. Like all that super yummy Valentine's Day chocolate. No one said you have to give it away. Indulge! You deserve it.

list
6

About the Creator

Crysta Coburn

Crysta K. Coburn has been writing award-winning stories her whole life. She is a journalist, fiction writer, blogger, poet, editor, podcast co-host, and one-time rock lyrics writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.