Beat logo

Anti-Valentine's Day: A Playlist Dedicated to Self Love

Less Valentine's Day. More Valentine's Nay.

By GabiPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
6

I have never been one who would describe themselves as a romantic. Blame it on the countless rejections, and crushes who embarrassed me in school (that’s a whole other story) but romance has never been my cup of tea. Ironically, I have been known to cuddle up with super cheesy romantic comedies from the nineties or tearjerker from time to time, because why not watch something that shows me what I could have – and still don’t – while I eat my sorrows in popcorn and sipping good wine.

What, me? I’m fine. Why do you ask?

Aside from all the above mentioned, being single on Valentine’s Day isn’t always solo movie cry fests and pints of ice scream although, it does help. Valentine’s Day can also just be about loving yourself.

For too long we’ve been told how important finding your “better half” is. How finding that person who will “complete us” should be a life goal well, I say that’s a lot of hooey. We don’t need a better half because we are already, all-around fantastic. Needing someone to complete us? Nah, we’re already whole. Being single can be a great time to reflect and embrace who we are as a person, without someone else being in the equation and when that happens, we can become empowered. We realize that while yes, being in a relationship would be nice, it doesn’t define us. We realize our worth.

With all that in mind, here is my self-worth, anti-Valentine’s Day playlist.

Stronger - Britney Spears

As if I would make this list and not include the pop princess. Going from,

"my loneliness is killing me"

in Hit Me Baby, One More Time to,

"my loneliness ain't killing me no more"

Stronger was and remains a quintessential "I'm better off without you and never needed you" anthem. #FreeBritney

Uninvited - Alanis Morisette

There are a few theories about what the song is about exactly but for me, it speaks about knowing what is right for you and not falling head over feet (also a fantastic Alanis song) just because someone is throwing attention your way.

Like any hot-blooded woman

I have simply wanted an object to crave

But you, you're not allowed

You're uninvited

An unfortunate slight

The song is one of my favourite Alanis tracks with its amazing lyrics, all the way down to its haunting sound.

Hit 'Em Up Style - Blu Cantrell

Hey Ladies,

When your man wanna get buck wild

Just go back and hit 'em up style

Put your hands on his cash and

Spend it to the last dime for all the hard times

The song pretty much speaks for itself and let's just say, when it came to self-care, Blu had the right idea here.

Twin Flames - In This Moment

Knowing when to leave a relationship, regardless of how compatible and in synch you think you might be with your partner, is never easy. Twin Flames speaks to just that right off the bat.

Baby watch as I step into flames for you

Baby watch me combust and explode for you

Baby watch as I burn

Baby watch as I burn for you

One last time

While finding someone similar to you is at times a fantastic experience, it can also mean a relationship that lacks balance which is never a good thing.

Get Free - Lana Del Rey

Since her very first release, we've all become accustomed to Lana's melancholy vibe but in Get Free, we hear a slightly more upbeat tone.

Finally

Gone is the burden

Of the crawling way of being

That comes from energies combined

Lana sings about finally being okay with herself and not needing to constantly chase after a perfect life. She is free from what she thought she needed to be okay and is content being in her own company.

Don't Want You Back - Backstreet Boys

Sometimes, it takes a relationship ending for you to realize just how bad it actually was. Getting swept up at the moment of infatuation, it's easy to mistake it with genuine attraction.

You started going out with so-called friends

But I was blind and so I lost all common sense

But there were things that made me realize

(Realize)

Like all the hundred no, thousand lies

The song remains a pop bop to this day and yes, one of my favourite BSB tracks.

Poison - Alice Cooper

Wanting something when we know it's bad for us. This is what Alice Cooper sings about in Poison.

I wanna love you, but I better not touch (don't touch)

I wanna hold you, but my senses tell me to stop

I wanna kiss you, but I want it too much (too much)

He knows being with her would be bad for him, but he can't help wanting her anyway. I mean, so many have experienced this so why not crank up the tune and rock out about it in your living room.

Bitch - Meredith Brooks

Ending the playlist with a powerhouse anthem from the nineties, Meredith Brooks taught us all to embrace our inner b.i.t.c.h and not caring about anyone who can't handle it.

I'm a bitch

I'm a lover

I'm a child

I'm a mother

I'm a sinner

I'm a saint

I do not feel ashamed

I'm your hell

I'm your dream

I'm nothing in-between

You know you wouldn't want it any other way

*90s headbanging ensues*

There you have it. My anti-Valentine's Day, self-love playlist. Of course, these are just some, and so many others could've been added that would have easily fit into the mix.

playlist
6

About the Creator

Gabi

Always tired.

@gabelisabetta on Instagram

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Gabi is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.