Beat logo

Altimate Alternative

All independent and alternative playlist

By Charlie SmithPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3

For all those years that you didn't feel good enough. When you doubted your decisions and were sure on nothing. For the long nights that turned to early mornings. It's soft warmth frustrating; because you knew that another day was about to be wasted. This is the playlist for you, so keep it on full volume.

What is alternative about alternative music ?

Alternative to me is more of a stylistic choice of sounds and song-writing. I wouldn't say it's experimental or art music, but defiantly isn't conformist. It propose ideas and theme's that are worthwhile to explore not just because they are quirky or different. That's why I feel, it resonates with a lot of young people because it is different in it's design and not just definition.

What's the sound of playlist ?

Alternative music can be considered to be quite a large genre of music. In just the same way you could define pop music. Alternative meaning anything, that is different to mainstream music. However, just because it's popular doesn't mean it can't be alternative. Is pop music, pop because it's made in a popular way ? Or is it just pop music, because it popular with the audience ? Either way that is a question for a separate article perhaps. On the playlist you will find a large range of different sounds and styles, most importantly, the focus is on song writing itself. Featuring full band line ups with guitars and drums, to simple acoustic tracks. There is everything because anything goes. In terms of sonic difference. After all, alternative means variation too, which is another reason I love it.

Indie and alternative ?

Isn't indie a genre, right? So how can it be alternative and indie ? Indie can be considered a genre in it's own right. However, I'm really engaged by the sound of unsinged and fledgling bands/artists. So raw and mostly unfiltered, it usually leaves a big impression on me. Not to mention, I love the idea of supporting artists who are working hard at their craft despite not earning much from it. It is no secret that Spotify doesn't pay the best. So giving coverage when it is needed feels good. All the music featured on lists are by musicians early on in there careers, which in my opinion, is the time they most need our collective support. So, therefore not indie in style, but very much in terms of being independent from a big record label. Alternative and being independent are very much the key ingredients for this playlist.

So how do independent musicians carry that nostalgia factor ?

One of the best parts of music for me personally is that always something new on horizon to listen too. As much as I like listening to my favourites, over and over. There is just something great about discovery. So then, how can listening to new music be nostalgic ? I think that the discovery process has become nostalgic to me. Hearing something different has become comforting and satisfying at the same time. Every track has it own idea's and themes to explore. Every artist has their own distinctions and originality. For me the worst part of music is hearing the same tracks over and over. As Christmas rolls round be prepared to hear the same 12 songs, over and over. Listen to certain radio stations and you will hear the same songs repeated twice or three times a day. For some will like that, some will enjoy that, but for me true feeling comes from new experiences. You don't have to experience outlandish music to keep it fresh. Even those with the most modest music tastes will benefit from variety and new perspectives and that's why I will keep on adding to 'Altimate Alternative' because this playlist can't be complete without more to discover.

By the time I finish writing this and have published it. I might have added even more tracks or edited it slightly. For now though there's some great quirky hits, so go fourth and discover this fresh alternative mix.

If your an artists and you want to submit your track; or just a general music lover and have some suggestions. Feel free to send me a message over on Instagram.

Thank you for reading, Charlie.

playlist
3

About the Creator

Charlie Smith

I'm new to this but hey I'm giving it ago. I sing and play guitar. I'm here to share a few bits of info I learn along my journey

https://linktr.ee/CharlieSmithMusic

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.