Beat logo

Album Review: 'Pink Elephant' by Stand Atlantic

Stand Atlantic releases Sophomore album

By Music You MissedPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
Like
Pink Elephant Album Cover

Stand Atlantic has been one of the hottest and fastest climbing bands in the pop punk world in the last 2 years. Their sophomore album, does not disappoint. The title itself tells you just what this album is about. Normally when someone sees a pink elephant, it is the cause of drunken hallucinations, and this album walks you through the life of an alcoholic. From questioning life to using liquid courage as a coping mechanism, you will NOT be disappointed and will bop your way through this album!

LISTEN WHILE YOU READ

1. "Like That"

Starting off the album with a classic pop punk sound, with classic pop punk lyrics. Like That brings the listener into a world of things going wrong for the character, and that character just not quick caring, because that's just how life goes.

Every dose, comatose

Can't seem to find the words

And it's just like that, it's just like that

2. "Shh!"

Have you ever held your tongue and just wanted to go off? This song is just that. Expressing your feelings, and not holding back is what society needs, honestly. Shh! is coming to realization that sometimes it's better to say what you think, and getting emotions off your chest knowing the outcome could be burning bridges, but saying it all anyways. I'm waiting with the demons that I hate

Like a little lab rat just crawling in a cage

Yeah, yeah, feed in my throat like a leech

Spinning out of your focus, I'm delirious

Waiting to be new again

3. "Blurry"

Social statuses and perfect models are ruining how people view themselves. We see these lives of social media influencers and celebrities that we try to change ourselfs with surgeries, nips and tucks, and more just to try to maintain some sort of self love, but it's slowly turning us into zombies, and losing site of self love and knowing you are worth so much more. Blurry is about that process of being numb, and wanting to just try to stay "trendy" or beautiful and losing yourself in the process.

Sever up my body

Sew it up to stop me

'Cause I need surgery to keep me blurry

So you like to hurt me

Could you cut me dirty?

'Cause I need surgery to keep me blurry

4. "Jurassic Park"

Full of metaphors, this song is a BOP. Dancing with Ghosts in Your Garden is a repeated line throughout the song. Your garden is where new things are planted and growing in your life, while the ghosts are parts of yours past that will be there, the ghost implies they might be bad while the dancing implies that maybe the character enjoys them being there. We're dressing skeletons is the first line in the chorus. While skeletons refers to skeletons in a closet, dressing them up, could make them tolerable and worth seeing sometimes. This song as a whole is about trying to dress up your broken past to be able to walk through it and appreciate your past instead of dwelling on it and the bad memories.

5. "Eviligo"

Lightening up the flow with a more pop rock sound, Eviligo, is a self deprecating song, about falling for someone, but tearing down yourself and showing that you will inevitably end up ruining the relationship. Constantly questioning your worth, and pointing out your flaws as a self defense tactic so that you're not the one ending up getting hurt.

6. "Wavelength"

Falling short of someone's expectations is never a good feeling, and Wavelength is how you would rather someone forget about you, instead of having to face the constant dissapointment from that person. Sometimes it just becomes so routine, that the best way out is to just silently slip away from it.

I'm tripping on your wavelength

Better than a way out of this

Wanna slip under your radar, unscarred

To see you reap what you have sown

7. "Drink to Drown"

Although the song and the lyrics of this song are quite sad, and about drowning out your sorrows with a liquid coping mechanism, the band decided to lighten the mood with this song by releasing a COVID-19 music video with fan submitted videos.

8. "DWYW"

DWYW (Do What You Want) is the escaping toxic relationship anthem. This song captures the confidence in facing a toxic person and all they have caused harm in your life, and just finally letting go. Someone who has a silver tongue and is manipulative. Know your worth, and just let that toxic person go and do what they want, because you deserve better.

Hide your wolves to the pack

Burn me out, sell my pain

Forcing me open (Woo!)

And I know what I like, my own hands pull me down

And it's more than you can

9. "Silk & Satin"

Losing who you are is never easy, and realizing you have lost yourself is even harder. Silk and Satin shows the character realizing that they have changed as a person, and lost people in their life from pushing them away. Trying to come out of a depressive state is not something people can do alone, and the character in this song is trying to do just that, instead of just trying to ask for help.

I used to be so sharp

And I used to be so callous

But now I'm silk and satin

Overthrown

10. "Soap"

Remember those drunken hallucinations and pink elephants? This song is the character talking to that hallucination and trying to tell it about their life and what has gone wrong, while trying to convince that pink elephant to help them out of the situation and the feelings they are in. Almost pleading with themself and not knowing it.

Come on, filter me out, feeling heavier now

And you got, and you got, and you got

You gotta pull me out

'Til I feel, 'til I feel, 'til I feel

Myself just fade away

11. "Hate Me (Sometimes)"

Ending the album with a song about thinking about a relationship and its past (the previous songs stories). The character in the album is reflecting on the good, the bad and the ugly of the relationship and their life. Realizing their own faults in the relationship, and then also acknowledging how the other person feels towards them, and thinking that sometimes, they like the mistreatment between the two of them.

I think I like the way you hate me sometimes

Hate me sometimes (Take it back)

You come and go just like the bones I'm breaking

Bones I'm breaking (Take it back)

I think I like the way you hate me sometimes

Follow Stand Atlantic on social media!

  • Facebook: Stand Atlantic
  • Twitter: @standatlantic
  • Instagram: standatlantic
  • Spotify: Stand Atlantic
  • Youtube: Hopeless Records

album reviews
Like

About the Creator

Music You Missed

Just some midwest kids trying to bring more music to your ears.

Check us out on twitter: @musicyoumissed_

Share your music with us! Send and email to [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.