Beat logo

A Twist in My Story

How this song Changed my life

By Erika FarrahPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

There is nothing more enlightening and more life-changing than a song that moves you. A song that makes you feel something so unique and inspiring that you can't help but listen to it all the time. That song for me is 'A Twist in My Story' by Secondhand Serenade. It sounds so corny to think that or even the fact that I heard this song by accident on Pandora one day just a few years ago and yet it spoke to me in ways I cannot begin to describe.

The title alone was enough to have me hooked as I often feel my own life story has had so many twists and turns. I often feel like I am not in control. I think one of the first times I heard this song was shortly after I was in a car accident in which I was a pedestrian struck in a marked crosswalk. That accident broke me and I couldn't let myself heal. But the words in the first lyric "Slow down, the world isn't watching us break down", it gave me this courage to know that I could cry. That I could feel lost even for a moment and that if I needed to break down then it was okay.

The next part I want to talk about is what leads into the chorus.

"The whispers turn to shouting

The shouting turns to tears

Your tears turn into laughter

And it takes away our fears"

This is just so empowering and so truthful. There are things in my life that I whispered or kept hidden until I had to shout about it which would turn into tears. Those tears would eventually become laughter because once I was free of the pains that held me down, I could smile and feel like I could conquer anything including my fears.

"So you see, this world doesn't matter to me

I'll give up all I had just to breathe

The same air as you till the day that I die

I can't take my eyes off of you "

This part of the lyrics just always gets me as it is what I dream about. I dream that one day I will find a man in my life, a man who will feel this way about me and wish to just be by my side, who can't imagine a world without me. I want a man in my life who will take my breath away and just let me be myself and someone who can be himself with me all the time. It's such the perfect way to describe how love can be so powerful, even if it isn't in your life just yet.

Now for the second verse. All of us, I am sure have had moments where we don't know how to express what we feel.

"And I'm longing, for words to describe how I'm feeling

I'm feeling inspired

My world just flip turned upside down

It turns around, say what's that sound

It's my heart beat, it's getting much louder

My heart beat, is stronger than ever

I'm feeling so alive, I'm feeling so alive"

The lyrics are a perfect metaphor for life. We can't always control what will happen. It jumps and turns, flips upside down, and throws us off balance. We feel discouraged and inspired. We feel hope and alive. And this song, it brought out so much in me. It made me smile and cry, it still does. It does it's title "A twist in my story" justice. The line though that truly changed my life though is "I'm finally waking up, a twist in my story". It is in this line that I realize how much it took me to start living my life. That it took twists like loss, death, friendship, toxic people, heartache and such for me to finally wake up and live my life.

quotes
1

About the Creator

Erika Farrah

To learn more about me and my works visit:

Website: erikashore.com

Instagrams: @erikafshore & @onceandfuturequeencospaly

TikTok: @erikafshore

Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCJjg7PvfvBH9utVuJHCKR_A?view_as=subscriber

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.