Beat logo

A Playlist for the Day That Must Not be Named

Be single and proud you Queen/King!

By Brooke HashPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1
A Playlist for the Day That Must Not be Named
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Love can be the worst thing to ever happen to you, and it can be the best. It can tear you open, leaving you bitter and hollow, but it can also make you feel on top of the world. It’s a high-risk, high-reward gamble. Personally, I’ve experienced both ends, which has left me feeling neutral about Valentine’s Day. I’m sort of a serial monogamist. It’s not by choice, well maybe a little, but I find myself falling for the bad boys way more than I should. It’s a problem. I know, but luckily, I’m a romantic at heart and continue to look for the right person no matter how bad past relationships may have been.

I dated a super sweet guy who left notes around, took me to a fancy dinner, and bought me flowers, chocolate, and a stuffed animal of a husky (my favorite dog) on Valentine’s Day. To some girls, he probably sounds perfect, and you may think I made a bad decision when I ended it a few months in. Maybe I did. However, I’m not very emotional (I’m rather reserved.) and felt he was too sensitive and mushy for me in general... I feel kind of cold just saying that, but there’s no time for regrets, right?

On the other end of the spectrum, I dated a guy who made me cry on Valentine’s Day by degrading me. As a bonus, he didn’t plan anything for the day, and we ended up at a chain restaurant with my eyes puffy and my face pink from tears. He got mad when I was silent at dinner… Can you believe I stayed with him for two year? Yikes!

After these experiences, I think Valentine’s Day is a nice reminder to love and appreciate your partner if you have one, but honestly, if you’re in a relationship, I think it’s important to show them they are loved every day. It doesn’t have to be something big. It can be as simple as doing the dishes for your wife or cooking your husband’s favorite dish. So, to me, I feel Valentine’s Day is sweet but unnecessary.

That said, and maybe to your surprise, I’ve spent plenty of Valentine’s Days alone and single. To get through those times, I found myself listening to songs that reminded me of the great aspects of being single. There’s so much pressure by society to find your person and settle down, but there’s so many more options that are just as great. When you’re single, you don’t have to answer questions and share your life with another person, you’ll probably have more time for friends and hobbies, and you can flirt with any attractive person you want to. You have complete freedom, and it’s great! All my favorite songs for being single are a wonderful reminder of that, so here they are for your enjoyment.

No Cuffs- LianeV

We’re in the middle of cuffing season, but this song is a great reminder of why you were enjoying being single during the heat of fielding season. You weren’t locked down. You were free to flirt with whomever you wanted to, and do you remember how nice it was to do whatever you want? Well, let me tell you. It’s real nice, and us single folks still have the luxury of enjoying it. #nocuffsarethebestcuffs (unless you’re feeling kinky)

hot girl bummer- blackbear

This song will have you saying f*ck you in your head to all the couples around. How dare they taint (not the urban dictionary taint) your presence with mushy lovebird sh*t? You just want to celebrate with the other singles and your friends because platonic love is better.

Truth Hurts- Lizzo

There’s no one better at making “single and proud” songs than Lizzo. She brings the sass and confidence, and I love it! Take Lizzo’s suggestion and pamper yourself. Get yourself looking hot and snap a picture to remind everyone what they’re missing. Make Valentine’s Day about your self-love.

Trust Issues- Olivia O’Brien

Some of us have trust issues. I get it. People can be awful, and we just want to be alone. This is a great song to remind you that, that’s okay. You don’t need to be in relationship and feeling comfortable and taking care of yourself is more important.

Myself- Bazzi

Some people are just better by themselves. They may not like the tedious aspects and work of a relationship, or maybe people tend to just drive them mad. Whatever the reason, I can understand if you feel it isn’t worth the effort. There’s nothing wrong with being a lifelong bachelor or bachelorette.

You should be sad- Halsey

There’s a reason “love is blind” is a saying. Sometimes we don’t realize how toxic a relationship is or how horrible someone is until we’re out of it. If you’ve had that experience, this is a great song to relate to on Valentine’s Day to remind you that not having someone can be better.

Save Your Tears- The Weeknd

Are you happily single, non-committal and love it? Well, here’s a song for you! The Weeknd can’t help but be a playboy, and he feels sorry, not sorry? It’s okay. He has an amazing voice.

Levi High- DaniLeigh

Sometimes, we just need to remember our worth. You are worthy of someone meeting your standards and loving you for you. If they don’t, don’t be afraid to say goodbye. Somebody is out there that will appreciate you. Tell the rest to back up, and remember this Valentine’s Day that you’re waiting for the one that truly deserves you.

You Don’t Own Me- SAYGRACE

This song will you get you in the feels. No one should control you and tell you what to do. If they do, please run. Find someone who respects you as an equal and shares concerns in a healthy way. Even more so, don’t let someone con you into being solely loyal to them without committing to you. If they won’t lock it down, enjoy the freedoms of single life guiltlessly.

Needed Me- Rihanna

Rihanna doesn’t need a man. She’s a queen. He needs her. You’re a queen or king, too. Don’t forget it, and show them what they can’t have. Need I say more?

I hope this playlist reminds you of how worthy you are and of the luxuries of being single. You’ll find the right person someday or maybe not, if your goal is to be forever single. Either way, you deserve love and happiness. Love yourself and feel empowered by these songs this Valentine’s Day! You can find my Anti-Valentine’s Day playlist here on Spotify with bonus songs.

playlist
1

About the Creator

Brooke Hash

I studied English and creative writing, and now I spend my free time writing novels and articles. I hope you enjoy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.