Beat logo

A long climb from Uncertainty

The sights and sounds which shaped a life.

By Novel AllenPublished 10 months ago 7 min read
6
Pushing life up a hill, never giving up

If I knew then what I know now, I would have started my life singing this song.

Instead, we begin here:

One rainy February night long ago and far away from my present life, I popped into the world screaming my displeasure at being unceremoniously pushed into a world of certain uncertainty.

I felt, even then, that I would be like the unfortunate Sisyphus, condemned to push that rock up the hill for eternity. Impossible you may say, I was just a baby. I was born with an 'old soul', I had been here before, I knew what to expect from even back then.

Zeus you see, had enchanted that rock that Sisyphus pushed, he would never be able to reach the top of the hill. Sisyphus had been super smart and super evil, betraying the secrets of the Gods. He had then been consigned to an eternity of useless and unending efforts and frustrations trying to get the boulder up the hill.

Does it not sound like the lives of humans everywhere, always trying to reach beyond the stars to find the 'more' that encompasses the question of "Is there not more to this life than we have at our fingertips"? Yet our boulders keep slipping, so we keep on pushing.

This song is for my mother, who gave me the gift of love and a caring kind heart>into infinity ♾️.

Music for relaxation!!!!!

I was born on February 6th, 19none of your bizwax. I am an Aquarian, and proud of it. I am unique, one of a kind and furiously independent, sometimes stupidly so. So what, we are who we are.

The dawning of the age of Aquarius

Water Bearer-Aquarius

Remember my poem:

I was born a natural hippie. Gosh, I sure loved those freedom days. If I find a cause or something that interests me, I will bumble, hurtle, barrel and blast into it with all my energy, sometimes to my detriment, but mostly to my total satisfaction, with my curiosity appeased and sated. I am easily bored and often get distracted, thus leaving things undone. People have always mistaken my wandering spirit for a lack of ambition, giddy headedness and lack of stick-to-it-ive-ness. Once upon a time I believed myself lacking in something, I knew not what. I found out long ago though, that I am one of a kind, so I need not be like anyone else.

Helen Keller says "Life is either a daring adventure or nothing".

I went through school in a daze, I was insecure and frightened of life, but I faced it along with all the negativity and naivety of youth. I had a hard time, I will admit, balancing childhood, growing into teenage years with little or no guidance. In the end I figured it all out taking the road less travelled, where road led to road, and truly found out that it made all the difference.

My favorite song.

I hope you dance.

I hope you never lose your sense of wonder. You get your fill to eat, but always keep that hunger. May you never take one single breath for granted. God forbid love ever leaves you empty handed. I hope you still feel small standing by the ocean. Whenever one door closes, I hope one more opens. Promise me you'll give faith a fighting chance. And when you get the choice to sit it out, or dance. I hope you dance. I hope you dance. I hope you never fear those mountains in the distance. And never settle for the path of least resistance. Living might mean taking chances, but they're worth taking. Loving might be a mistake but it's worth the making. Don't let some hell-bent heart leave you bitter, when you come close to selling out, reconsider. Give the heavens above more than just a passing glance. And when you get the choice to sit it out, or dance.

I hope you dance.

Time is a wheel in constant motion, always rolling us along

Tell me, who wants to look back on their years and wonder

Where those years have gone?

Love you Gladys. Keep dancing........Dance

~~~~

I grew up listening to Bob Marley and other artists in Jamaica. Reggae, Ska and Dancehall music were our staple listening back then.

Could you be love, and be loved. Say something.

~~~~

A song for my Father, Mother, Brother, many relatives and friends. Gone but not forgotten.

~~~~

I have travelled to the USA, UK, Romania and Greece more recently. The Islands of Greece are exceptionally beautiful. I saw the largest rose petals, and flowers so breathtakingly beautiful, they left me wondering how such lovely creations could possibly grow out of rocks. For Greece is an archipelago, sometimes called an island group or island chain, cluster, or collection of islands, or sometimes a sea containing a small number of scattered islands. Most of these islands are literally rocks with barely any signs of life, yet the few which did have people were adorned with such beauty. The world is a beautiful place, if we could just all have the opportunity to discover it in its entirety.

~~~~

Life is short, we should squeeze the most that we can out of it. Just before he went to forever sleep, a dear friend sent me this song from his beloved Canada.

Lead with your Heart!

Goodbye my friend. I have always led with my heart.

So as we begin a new adventure...songs everlasting.

A tribute to Whitney Houston.

I hope you now fly on the happiest of angel wings, your music still sweetly resounding.

Finally: DESIDERATA

Keep peace with your soul!!!

~~~~

A POEM for the children

“IF-” By Rudyard Kipling

If you can keep your head when all about you

Are losing theirs and blaming it on you,

If you can trust yourself when all men doubt you.

But make allowance for their doubting too;

If you can wait and not be tired by waiting.

Or being lied about, don't deal in lies,

Or being hated, don't give way to hating,

And yet don't look too good, nor talk too wise

**If you can dream —and not make dreams your master

If you can think —and not make thoughts your aim

If you can meet Triumph and Disaster

And treat those two impostors just the same;

If you can bear to hear the truth you've spoken

Twisted by knaves to make a trap for fools.

Or watch the things you gave your life to broken,

And stoop and build'em up with worn-out tools:

**If you can make one heap of all your winnings

And risk it on one turn of pitch-and-toss,

And lose, and start again at your beginnings

And never breathe a word about your loss;

If you can force your heart and nerve and sinew

To serve your turn long after they are gone,

And so hold on when there is nothing in you

Except the Will which says to them: “Hold on!”

**If you can talk with crowds and keep your virtue,

Or walk with Kings —nor lose the common touch,

If neither foes nor loving friends can hurt you,

If all men count with you, but none too much;

If you can fill the unforgiving minute,

With sixty seconds' worth of distance run.

Yours is the Earth and everything that's in it,

And —which is more— you'll be a Man, my son!

(You'll be a woman, my daughter)!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I Hope You Dance

Lee Ann Womack (Original)

I hope you never lose your sense of wonder

You get your fill to eat but always keep that hunger

May you never take one single breath for granted

God forbid love ever leave you empty handed

I hope you still feel small when you stand beside the ocean

Whenever one door closes, I hope one more opens

Promise me that you'll give faith a fighting chance

And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance

I hope you dance

I hope you dance

I hope you never fear those mountains in the distance

Never settle for the path of least resistance

Livin' might mean takin' chances, but they're worth takin'

Lovin' might be a mistake, but it's worth makin'

Don't let some Hell bent heart leave you bitter

When you come close to sellin' out, reconsider

Give the Heavens above more than just a passing glance

And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance

I hope you dance (Time is a wheel in constant motion)

I hope you dance (Always rolling us along)

I hope you dance (Tell me who wants to look back on their years and wonder)

I hope you dance (Where those years have gone?)

I hope you still feel small when you stand beside the ocean

Whenever one door closes, I hope one more opens

Promise me that you'll give faith a fighting chance

And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance

Dance

I hope you dance

I hope you dance (Time is a wheel in constant motion)

I hope you dance (Always rolling us along)

I hope you dance (Tell me who wants to look back on their years and wonder)

I hope you dance (Where those years have gone?)

Tell me who wants to look back on their years

And wonder where those years have gone

Songwriters: Mark D Sanders, Sillers. For non-commercial use only.

Data From: Musixmatch

humanitydance70s music
6

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Every new day is a blank slate. Write something new.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Renee10 months ago

    This was funny and clever and really fun to read!! Great job!

  • 19none of your bizwax! 🤣🤣🤣🤣 My dad is an Aquarian too! I enjoyed reading this and getting to know more about you! Loved your playlist!

  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    Very inspirational playlist 🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.