Beat logo

A Hopeful Singer

Part of Me

By Brittany FenwickPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

I hope you see, you've left a mark on me,

and if you leave, you'll take a part of me

These were the words that poured out of me in the form of a song while I was hunched over my guitar, trying to make some kind of sense of the news I had just received. No one prepares you for grief like that, no one tells you how to say goodbye to someone who is on the brink of death. As I searched my brain for the right words to express my love and grief without making the potential goodbye self-centered, I wondered how many other people had been in this exact same position at some point in life. How many other people had sat helpless wanting to tell someone that they mean the world to them, but knowing that the one that they love is in absolute agony? How do you even begin to process that level of heartache? I couldn't find the right words to say, so in the quiet of my room, I picked up my guitar and I sang.

No prewritten lyrics or clear thoughts, I just let the words flow out of me with no intention of ever sharing the song with anyone else, it was like my version of writing in a journal. Something healing came over me as I sang and cried.

How do you say goodbye in a second? How do you hold someone close, knowing that they're letting go?

Over time the song became a form of comfort to me and like so many artists that I adore, the lyrics became a refuge for my weary heart.

How do you tell someone that you need them, without a selfish approach, how do you give them hope?

One day I was showing a friend some songs I had written and for some reason, I decided to sing this one and when I finished I looked up to see that friend was crying. They told me about how they had been in a similar position, how it had made them feel terrified and alone. My friend thanked me for sharing the song with them and that it made them feel less lonely in the situation, someone else understood what they had been going through. I showed a few more people who had a similar response and that's when I knew that this song was bigger than me and it wasn't just for me.

I hope you hear the words I'm tryna say, I don't know how to say and I know that's not very clear.

But, I hope you see, you've left a mark on me and if you leave, you'll take a part of me.

I have always been passionate about helping others and have often found comfort in music. I've been singing and writing songs since I was 13, but I was never quite sure what I wanted to say. All I knew is that I wanted it to matter, I wanted to bring hope. My songwriting adapted, I became more honest and open with my lyrics. It no longer became about how many likes, streams, or follows a song received, that is not my measure of success. It doesn't matter to me anymore. What matters is that one message saying 'thank you', 'your song made me feel less alone' or in the best of cases 'it gave me hope'.

There are millions of talented singers and songwriters on this planet so what makes little old me different, why should people follow and care about my music? It's simple really, my career goal is to bring hope to anyone who needs it. To create comfort and safe havens in melodies a lyrics, a reminder that even in the darkest of moments we are not alone. So if you need a bit of hope in your day and you enjoy music, I'm your singer-songwriter.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Brittany Fenwick

Hello! I'm an Aussie, creative, middle-child with ADHD. Passionate about music and poetry, but incapable of staying in one lane. "Jack of all trades, but a master of none", wanna go on an adventure?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.