Beat logo

5 Country Songs To Add To Your Travel Playlist

Covid got you down? Can't wait for everything to open again? Want something to inspire a bit of wanderlust in you? Here are my top five country music songs that will make you want to travel!

By Amanda MitchellPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

This pandemic sucks. Yup, I said it. Original thought, huh?

Nothing has ever made me want to travel more than when the entire world shut down. All of a sudden, the idea of never getting to see Italy, Paris, Japan, Hawaii, etc., became so real. The only method of travel came from books, movies and songs.

Being able to escape into music is a lifesaver. When you are stuck alone in your house and you don't have the opportunity to travel it can get depressing. Music is and will always be the key to escaping the realities of life.

Some songs really do pull a strong wanderlust from me and I figured that since I enjoyed these songs so much, maybe you will as well. Personally, I think no genre screams, “that's it let go travel!” more than Country.

Without further ado, here are my Top 5 Best Travel Songs from Country Music.

Highway Vagabond- Miranda Lambert

Track 2 on Miranda's 'The Weight Of These Wings' album is a fun and upbeat song about literally driving on the highway. This song basically screams country music. I was actually fortunate enough to see her preform this live in 2016. Fantastic concert, fantastic musician, fantastic song.

My Favorite Song Lyrics:

I wanna go somewhere where nobody knows

I wanna know somewhere where nobody goes

Wagon Wheel- Darius Rucker

Now if you listen to country music then you already know this song by heart. It has won all kinds of awards ,including a Grammy, and is still played often on the radio even though it was released about 8 years ago. Just a feel good song about hitchhiking his way to his love.

My Favorite Song Lyrics:

Oh, the North country winters keep a gettin' me now

Lost my money playin' poker so I had to up and leave

But I ain't a turnin' back

To livin' that old life no more

Independence- The Band Perry

For those who hate the town they grew up in, this one's for you. This song, which in my opinion didn't get enough hype, is about growing up and leaving your hometown. It tells the story of leaving your childhood behind to figure out who you want to be.

My Favorite Song Lyrics:

Some say I'm crazy, a little loco

And most of my friends will live and die in this zip code

It might be for me but until I go

How am I ever supposed to know?

Something More- Sugarland

Ever get the feeling that you need to quit your job and travel the world? If not, this song will make you want to. Sugarland released this song 2004 and it made me want to give up on my 9-5 before I even started working.

My Favorite Song Lyrics:

I could work my life away, but why?

I got things to do before I die

Wild Child- Kenny Chesney (with Grace Potter)

Nothing like a country song about falling in love with a free-spirited girl. This 2015 single tells the story of a women who just loves to break social norms. Like most country love songs it involves a truck and a pretty girl, but something about the girl in this song makes me want to go to Burning Man. Have a listen and I'm sure you'll agree.

My Favorite Song Lyrics:

She'll be here until she runs

Some just have to chase the sun

So there you have it, my top 5 country songs to make you want to travel. Please enjoy this little bit of escapism as we all patiently await the reopening of the world. Hope I have sparked a bit of wanderlust in you!

playlist
Like

About the Creator

Amanda Mitchell

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.