Beat logo

13 Ghosts

A Desperate-To-Be-Seen-And-Heard Playlist

By Julianne McKennaPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
9
13 Ghosts
Photo by FLY:D on Unsplash

Ghost 1: Well hello, all my dark fiends and foes! This gathering is of the upmost importance because the veil is thinning, and Halloween is almost upon us. Every year we join the shenanigans on the mortal plane, and every year we are ignored and overlooked. Anyone would think we were invisible! The fact we can't be seen by mortals is irrelevant, and not the point! This year we need a ghoulish playlist that is loud, bold and scarier than a black cat crossing your path!

Ghost 2: Can't we just ask the witches for some Potions that make us visible? Wouldn't that be so much easier and much less effort? You know, take a few sips, become visible to the naked eye long enough to Raise Hell, cause some mischief and mayhem, and then return to our glorious selves once it's all over.

Ghost 3: Really? Do we want to get the witches in trouble again? Don't you remember what happened last time? Those mortals were scared silly and began yelling BURN THE WITCH! Anyone would think they were Heathens! These mortals don't seem to have a sense of humour. I think being able to see us that one time really messed with their heads.

Ghost 4: People Are Strange, there is no doubt about that! How about we wear some actual costumes this year? You know, we could wear white sheets over our heads so people could see us and include us in the festivities and fun! If they can see us, we can participate in all the ghoulish activities, and scare the pants right off them. Much better than just saying BOO and hoping for a reaction, don't you think?

Ghost 5: Oh Demons! Are you really suggesting that we be that boring with costumes? Where is your sense of adventure and excitement? I want to go as a Sweet Transvestite, or maybe even as a Devil Woman! Now, that would be spooktacular and scary, all at the same time! Hmmm...I wonder if I can still remember how to walk in heels?

Ghost 6: I Want Candy. And lots of it! I don't care for the ideas of costumes and all the shenanigans. My sweet tooth needs to be satisfied. A girl needs chocolates and sweets once in a while, just saying! Otherwise, a few Heads Will Roll if I don't get my sugar hit!

Ghost 7: You my dear, are the Devils' Worst Nightmare! Candy indeed! Sheesh! We are Ghosts, we cannot eat candy! Can you imagine watching a sticky, oozing mess as it flows through our intestines? Wait. You might be onto something. Do you think a mortal would enjoy that visual effect?

Ghost 8: Yay! It's my favourite time of year! I can Creep around in the dark scaring silly little children, make them shriek and cry! As if running away will save them! Sometimes, I get an extra giggle because they run straight into the Spiderwebs and scare themselves all over again. It' so much fun to watch!

Ghost 9: Geez, you can be such a mean little Monster at times, can't you! Those poor children. Although, I do suppose scaring them and giving them the Heebie Jeebies is rather funny! Can I join you next time? I've got a new scare that I would love to try out!

Ghost 10: Did you hear what those Seven Devils in the corner just said? I overheard them saying that the Girl Next Door is a Black Magic Woman. Who would have thought! But then again, I heard she was Sweet but Psycho, so I guess that explains everything.

Ghost 11: I guess there is nothing wrong with being A Little Wicked at this time of the year. After all, Bad Things have been known to happen to good people. Maybe we should be Calling All The Monsters to join us, add a dash of Black Magic to the mix, and let the witches run around screaming "I Put A Spell On You"! I bet we could make the humans teeth chatter and knees knock in fright!

Ghost 12: It's going to be a Thriller of a night! The excitement is making me shiver with anticipation! I'm sure we will have as much fun as we had at Dracula's Wedding last week. We have so much spooking and scaring to do because there Ain't No Rest For The Wicked, even if we don't need sleep.

Ghost 13: Ghouls, could we please hurry this up? I have to go Bury A Friend and I'd like to be back before the Witching Hour commences. I don't like wandering around in the dark all by myself. Somebody might try to scare me and I scare easily!

Ghost 1: Fine. All in favour of this bone-rattling, head-rolling and BOOty shaking playlist, say BOO! After all, This Is Halloween and we want to be set the mood for scares galore!!!

13 Ghosts: Boo! ... Boo! ... Boo! ... Boo! ... Boo! ... Boo! ... Boo! ... Boo! ... Boo! ... Boo! ... Boo! ... Boo! ... Boo!

*****************************************

Thank you for taking the time to read my story. This little action by you is greatly appreciated by me. If you enjoyed what I have written, please make sure to click on the heart button, and leave some love... and please feel free to share with others (if you enjoyed my story they might too), this is a wonderful (and free) way to show support for me. If you are truly impressed with my writing, tips are also most welcome (but are completely optional and not expected). :)

Contact Information:

Twitter: @JulesMcKenna13

Instagram: @theblingprincess

Facebook: Julianne McKenna

playlist
9

About the Creator

Julianne McKenna

I write because my heart tells me to, I read because I love stories that make my eclectic soul happy. I'm an artist, scrapbooker, book nerd, animal lover, traveller and free spirit. Twitter: @JulesMcKenna13 Instagram: @theblingprincess

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.