Beat logo

10 Music Collaborations That Don’t Exist

...yet!

By Chloe GilholyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
4

One of my articles, 10 music covers that don’t exist was well received, and was even a staff pick. This inspired me to do some more music related posts in the future. Unlike the covers article, collab articles are quite easy to find, and a lot of them cover American pop and hiphop stars. With this one I’m going to focus more on artists that I know and will do my best to include a mixture of genres and artists around the world.

If collabs are done well, they can further the careers of all the artists involved. If it dosen’t quite work you get fans and critics scratching their head. Though every artist should have the right to experiment and learn from it even if the end results are not so good. However the list I have, I think these collabs would sound amazing and could be gaurenteed hits.

Snoop Dog & Mutya Buena

Most of you know Calvin Broadus Jr. by many aliases with Snoop Dogg being his most popular. Weather you know him through him from behind bars, cooking with Martha Stewart or the So Money Super Market advert, you can’t deny he’s a big catalogue of Hip Hop masterpieces. He’s been a featured artist in over 500 songs.

Mutya Buena is known as one the best singer in not just her band, the Sugababes, but also in the UK. In one article where pop singers from girl groups were ranked, she was second only to Beyoncé. She’s done some really big collabs too. Her tracks with Amy Winehouse and George Micheal are some underrated bangers.

The reason I think Snoop Dog and Mutya would make such a great song, with or without the Sugababes is because both of their voices are deep, they both been in the industry for a long time and I think they’re very compatible, musically speaking.

I can imagine the song being slow with lots of harmonies from Mutya and her band mates if they’re in it, but I can also see Mutya holding up well on her own. Then there will be Snoop Dog calling himself the black Willy Wonka.

Rammstein & t.A.T.u.

There are some really excellent mash-ups between these two bands. The best one, in my opinion is posted as the main video of the article. It’s such a good mash up it felt like a real collaboration. Yulia and Lena from t.A.T.u both do their own thing now, but Rammstein is still going strong. If the former were still musically active, this would have been amazing live. Rammstien also have a song called Moskau, which I’ve seen often miscredired as being a collab with t.A.T.u.

I can imagine their collab song to be an epic mix of gothic lyrics, killer riffs and soaring vocals in a beauty and the beast style, with Tind being the beauty.

Kate Bush & Björk

Kate Bush and Björk share a lot in common. They’re artistic and their music is hard to define. They have many penned classics to their name and I notice many fans of Kate Bush are also fans of Björk. They think outside the box and are eclectic. I think if they did a song together, it would tell a beautiful story, but there would still be hidden messages in the beats and the lyrics. I think the pair of them collaborating would bring the best out of both of them and it would be an ethereal experience.

Babymetal & Iron Maiden

Two of the iconic bands in my iPod library. Babymetal’s concert in Wembley was one of the greatest concerts of my life. Seeing Iron Maiden live has been on my wishlist for a long time. If the two of them performed together, I think it would be phenomenal.

Nine Inch Nails & Christina Aguilera

Very different, but I think it could work. Both of their greatest songs are very deep. Some of their songs are also sexual. Christina Aguilera is a great vocalist who always reinvents herself and isn’t afraid to show off skin and her voice. I always thought it would sound she would sound amazing on an electronic rock album to go with those powerhouse vocals.

Martin Gore & Charlie Simpson

Two of my favourite musicians. Charlie Simpson was one of my first celebrity crushes, but as I grew up I admired him even more as a musician for following his heart when it came to music. Martin Gore is a founding member of my favourite band, Depeche Mode. It would be cool to hear what two of my favourite musicians would do if they had to work together.

Nightwish & Tarja

Tarja was the first singer of Nightwish. Since she was fired in 2005, Nightwish have gone ina different direction and she has also gone on to do many things with her solo career. I think the bad blood between Tarja and her band mates have gone. Tarja and their new singer, Floor have been on stage together. I think it would be really cool to see Tarja sing with her old band again. The metal scene would be so excited.

list
4

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.