Beat logo

10 Great Movie Soundtracks for Getting Stuff Done

Tunes to put on for a productivity boost!

By Tone BreistrandPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
2

I love listening to movie soundtracks when working, as playing songs with lyrics makes it harder for me to concentrate. Here's a mix of calm and motivational tracks from some of the best film scores I know. I've picked one song from each of them, but please, play the full soundtrack if you can, they're all great!

1. Jurassic Park - Main Theme

The music from this movie is amazing, and the mix of action-filled and calm makes it feel empowering to me, which is exactly what I need when I'm doing work. John Williams is one of the greatest composers of movie soundtracks, and with 52 nominations, he's the second most Oscar-nominated person in history. This means you can safely add this one to your work or study playlist, you won't be disappointed.

2. The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey - Dreaming of Bag End

All The Hobbit movies have amazing soundtracks, with all kinds of emotions present. This kind of orchestral music creates a wonderful environment. Dreaming of Bag End is a calm and warm tune, making me feel safe and in control. It serves as a comforting background track for whatever work I need to get done.

3. Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End - What Shall We Die For

I've always loved the soundtracks of the Pirates of the Caribbean movies, and would always stay seated during the credit scenes when watching the new movies in the cinema. The music from these movies must be some of the most energetic and fast-paced soundtracks out there, and they always make me feel motivated. This one in particular is more of a calm, emotional track. I love how the vocals in the end sound, and it really makes me feel like I'm one of the pirates, and I'm prepared for anything.

4. Avatar - Main Theme

This movie is not only incredibly pleasing for the eye, it's also full of great music. James Horner, one of Hollywood's greatest composers, whose other work includes Titanic and The Amazing Spider-Man, definitely deserves to be represented on this list. This track is quite peaceful, which is good for me if I'm working on something close to a deadline, which, as a procrastinator, I'm not unfamiliar with.

5. Corpse Bride - The Piano Duet

I'm a big Halloween lover, and I love to sneak accordingly themed things in during the rest of the year. Corpse Bride is amazing, and so is its soundtrack. The Piano Duet, where Emily is playing a sad tune on the piano, and Victor comes in and plays the same tune, but happier, is a wonderful scene. She eventually joins in on his positivity and they continue to play together, which is a sweet moment for them to share.

6. Avengers: Endgame - Portals

This whole soundtrack is amazing, as we know we can expect from the amazing Alan Silvestri. Portals is my favorite scene from the entire Avengers franchise, and this track is so powerful. If I was a superhero, I would definitely want this as my theme song. If you ever need a boost, this song will give it to you.

7. The Lion King - This Land

This song is absolutely amazing, and just as it does for Simba, it can serve you a big chunk of motivation as well. It's warm, emotional and energetic, and a great addition to your work or study session. The fact that it's from a movie that served as a childhood staple for so many people only makes it better.

8. Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring - Many Meetings

It's probably not a surprise that I chose to include another Howard Shore soundtrack on this list, nor that Lord of the Rings is represented. The soundtrack to this trilogy has helped me through many assignments and exam preparations, and I'm sure it can do the same for you. Many Meetings specifically is a comfortable melody that makes me feel at peace and at home.

9. Alice in Wonderland - Alice's theme

Apparently I tend to stick to the same composers for the music on this list, as this is another example of Danny Elfman's work. He's an amazing composer, and I love the soundtrack from Tim Burton's Alice in Wonderland. This song boosts my creativity with its fast-paced melody and soft nonsense-vocals. I wish I had my own wonderland.

10. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows - Obliviate

This is another franchise with amazing film scores, although I find these to be a bit underrated, as I don't see them getting the attention they deserve. The track Obliviate from Deathly Hallows is exactly what I want from the music on the list: Full of energy but not too fast paced, it's instrumental, emotional and exciting. Definitely good for a writing session.

That was my list of ten great songs to get work done, I hope you like it!

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If you enjoyed this article, please share it on your social media and send it to someone you think will like it too!

If you enjoyed this article and would like to support me, you can send me a tip below this story, which would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you so much for your support!

list
2

About the Creator

Tone Breistrand

Hi there! I am a Norwegian writer living in London. I like to write about love, Disney and finding happiness.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.