Art logo

The Starry Night

The Painting that Defines Me

By Judith JaschaPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
1
The Starry Night
Photo by Kevin Snow on Unsplash

It was one of those nights. It was two in the morning, and I was restless. I found myself thinking about everything, tossing and turning, not being able to get comfortable despite my best efforts. I was feeling sleep wonky tonight.

Frustrated, I got out of bed and walked to my window. Looking out, I saw an old friend. In the sky above were tons of shiny little stars. Suddenly I was taken back to a much simpler time. In that moment, I couldn't help but smile.

In seventh grade, my English teacher had a special part of her class where every Friday she would teach us about a famous painting. We would discuss them, memorize the names, and take a test on it. I quickly found a love of art, as I loved to get completely caught up in it. Even a picture of a bowl of fruit had the ability to take me to another place and time. It was magical.

Out of all these incredible paintings, my favorite has always been The Starry Night by Van Gogh. There is a beautiful simplicity in this piece of art. There are no people, no noise, just a quiet peace surrounded by an amazing blast of color that radiates the sky. The story behind this painting is one of despair and hope.

Vincent Van Gogh painted the Starry Night in 1889 while staying at an asylum. He had been going through a lot. It was during this stay that he began to find some peace within himself. I believe he painted this work or art with a heart full of hope and optimism. In it, he shows the beauty that is in the world around us.

I grew up in the south. I have many memories of going outside on a warm summer's evening and looking at the stars. During long family road trips, I would gaze out the window to the shiny twinkling above me. I would close my eyes and make a wish, whatever should be in my heart at the time. Even now, whenever I go outside at night and see stars, I will pick one, and make a wish. I feel its a special way for me to speak my heart to the universe. And I get the feeling that the universe hears me.

My great-grandparents had a porch swing and a fish pond with a beautiful waterfall. On summer nights, they would go sit and feed the fish. I would watch them sitting there holding hands. It was a wonderful sight. I dreamed of one day sitting with someone special holding hands while just appreciating being together under this incredible beauty that is around us. Its so simple and romantic.

Life can be super hectic as we get caught up in it. Sometimes we forget to stop and just breathe. If we just stop for a moment when we are under that night sky with the stars, we are reminded of how beautiful the world...and life truly is. We are able to embrace the hope and dreams that exist in it. A world where dreams can come true by just believing.

Looking up, I see one particular star that seems to shine a bit brighter then the others. I smile, close my eyes tightly, and begin those words, "Star light, Star bright, I wish a wish for me tonight..." and I breathe in deeply. There is a calm peace within me. My dreams will come true. With that, I get back into bed and curl up under my blanket.

The Starry Night was painted by Vincent Van Gogh. It has become one of the most famous works of art in history, and can be found on posters, clothes, coffee mugs, etc.

Inspiration
1

About the Creator

Judith Jascha

Mom, sister, teacher, student, writer. I love to touch on all areas as I like to expose myself to new things. My goal is to use my experience to entertain and educate.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.