Art logo

The Mindful Artist

Mindfulness and me

By KryptaKittyPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
8
The power is in our minds

In my journey as an artist, I have discovered the profound impact of mindfulness on the process of designing art. Mindfulness, the practice of being fully present and aware in the current moment, has not only transformed my creative process but also enriched the final outcome of my artistic endeavors. Through the integration of mindfulness, I have found a deeper connection with my art and a greater sense of satisfaction in the creative journey.

When I engage in the act of designing art with mindfulness, I bring my attention to the present moment. Instead of getting caught up in the thoughts about the past or the future, I focus on the sensations, thoughts, and emotions that arise as I immerse myself in the artistic process. By doing so, I create a space for self-reflection and self-expression, allowing my art to be a genuine representation of my inner world.

This mindset enables me to approach my artistic practice with a non-judgmental attitude. I let go of preconceived notions of what my art should look like and embrace the freedom of exploration.

Moreover, mindfulness helps me cultivate a deep appreciation for the process of creating art. In a fast-paced world filled with distractions, it is easy to rush through tasks, seeking immediate results and overlooking the beauty in the process.

However, by practicing mindfulness, I become aware of the intricate details that often go unnoticed. I savor the feeling of the digital brush gliding across the art canvas, the subtle variations in color blending, and blending of shape. This heightened awareness allows me to fully immerse myself in the creative journey, finding joy and fulfillment in each step.

Another aspect of this is that it greatly influences my art and its ability to cultivate a sense of interconnectedness. When I engage in the act of designing art mindfully, I acknowledge the interdependence between myself, the materials I use, and the environment that surrounds me. This mindfulness extends beyond the creation of art and seeps into other aspects of my life, fostering a greater sense of self worth.

Finally, mindfulness allows me to tap into a state of flow, where time seems to dissolve, and I am completely absorbed in the creative process. In this state, the boundaries between the artist and the artwork blur, and I experience a sense of oneness with my creation.

I would now like to take the time to share with you a mindfullness technique for all artists that enables me to let go of intrusive thoughts when I create:

“ Thought Labeling” Here's how you can practice it:

Begin by finding a quiet and comfortable space where you can focus without distractions. Sit or lie down in a relaxed position.

Close your eyes and take a few deep breaths, allowing your body to relax with each exhale. Bring your attention to the present moment and the sensations in your body.

As you start engaging in your artistic process, pay attention to any intrusive thoughts that arise. These could be self-doubts, criticisms, or worries about the outcome of your art.

Instead of getting caught up in these thoughts, mentally label them as "thinking" or "thoughts." For example, if a self-doubt arises, silently acknowledge it by saying, "I'm having a thought that I'm not good enough."

After labeling the thought, gently redirect your attention back to the present moment and the task at hand. Focus on the colors, textures, or movements involved in your art, fully immersing yourself in the creative process.

If another intrusive thought arises, repeat the process of labeling it and then refocus on the present moment. Remember to be kind and non-judgmental toward yourself during this practice.

Continue this cycle of thought labeling and redirecting your attention as many times as necessary throughout your artistic session.

By practicing thought labeling, you create a mental space between yourself and your thoughts. This technique allows you to observe the intrusive thoughts without getting entangled in them, enabling you to stay present and focused on your art. With time and practice, you may find that the frequency and intensity of intrusive thoughts decrease, and you can create art with more clarity and ease.

Remember, mindfulness is a skill that develops with consistent practice. So, be patient and gentle with yourself as you incorporate this technique into your artistic routine

Let me know in the comments if this technique helps you too - love Kitty

TechniquesGeneral
8

About the Creator

KryptaKitty

Hi, This is me:

KryptaKitty - Educator /digital mixed media artist | Art Collector | Twitter Space hostess | NFT Collector | IRL Mum of 2 | Mental Health Advocate.

Come and join me on Twitter :)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • sleepy drafts3 months ago

    This is a fantastic reminder. You've put this beautifully. Also, your artwork is stunning!

  • I really enjoyed reading this. Your artwork is beautiful.

  • Sandra Tena Cole4 months ago

    Kitty, thanks for this! ❣️ As an art model, I often do relaxation exercises or meditate while I'm posing, and I think this might be a brilliant tool to add for me, too 💓xx

  • Simona Rosso11 months ago

    I especially agree when you talk about entering a flow state, creative hobbies in general are extremely helpful with that!

  • Gvel11 months ago

    I like the subject you covered. Mindfulness is essential in every aspect of life.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.