Art logo

Painted Prose

"Sunny"

By Latoya Giles Published 11 months ago 3 min read
2

A picture, whether painted, or captured by a camera, speaks a thousand words; Volumes. Each line and instrument stroke adds more to the conversation. Every single word symmetrically coming together to bring a vision into clear view. I have seen many things through these 38 year old eyes. I have seen pictures that have made me feel warm inside, setting off a physical chain reaction of outwardly positive physical reactions: a smile for instance. A picture can also evoke fear and sadness, triggering a different set of physical effects: tears or a scowl maybe.

This particular piece has no official name. I decided to name it myself. I settled on the name "Sunny". While there is no nature or literal sun in the picture, she is the sun. She has sunflowers on her neck and a small smile on her face. She appears happy and confident. The subject is an African American woman. She is a single mother. Her face is natural. Her hair is natural. Her skin is smooth. It is flawless. Her outward features hide her stress and thoughts of struggle.

"What can I make for dinner tonight? Is there enough food?" Perhaps.

"The car needs gas, I don't get paid until Friday."

Her confidence shows through this still shot. Her smirk? It tells it all...

"No, I do not want to give you my phone number."

"YES, I am currently single."

She owns her own house; she does not rent. She owns her car, she dos not lease it. She is in graduate school. She aspires to get her masters degree in Psychology because mental health matters. She is working hard to show her brown skinned daughters how to be strong and independent black women in a world that often does not value them. The black woman is at the bottom of the societal totem pole. What does that mean? It means she must work harder to achieve and be recognized for things her non-black counterparts may be gifted for free. No complaining. My girl ain't jaded one bit! She is simply playing the hand the universe has dealt her, nothing more. However, do not minimize her or her accomplishments. She is to be celebrated. Look at her. Don't look for too long though. She does not stand still often. She has many things to do and places to go.

"Hindsight is 20/20, so catch me if you can..."

*BLACK GIRL MAGIC* My skin is brown. A smooth silk sheet that covers my body and fits its form. This creamy brown-ness seeps into every crack and hugs every curve. What's the word? Brown sugar...babe. Get sprung off this magic. The black girl magic that comes naturally to me. My skin does not crack as I age. Take that father time! I am intelligent too, don't get it confused. Yes, she is more than a pretty face and a "good" time because, trust me, she is fine. Always on the move, there is no time to slow down, let alone stop. Brown skin, black girl magic stays on top.

The artist is my oldest daughter. She has been drawing since she was in preschool. I have supported and encouraged her the whole way. She has many dreams for her art. The picture featured here is one of her first realistic pictures. This picture is not from any reference. It is completely open for interpretation. She drew this picture when she was 14. She is 17 years old now. My mom asked her to draw her a picture. The feature piece was the result. Drawn freehand. She has so much potential. My "Sunny" girl...

ProcessJourneyInspirationIllustrationGeneralDrawing
2

About the Creator

Latoya Giles

I'm just a single mom tryna make it. Come with me on my journey through life in writing... "A dream deferred is not a dream denied"

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen11 months ago

    Great build-up to the art. Looks very professional. She has places to go and art to paint. Very well done.

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER11 months ago

    I absolutely love this: the deep meanings within what you wrote, your daughter's magnificent drawing! If this fictional, bravo! 👏 If this is nonfictional, bravissimo! 👏👏👏

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.